Spring Tonic – Rhubarb Harvest

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

One of the nice things to harvest is the springtime is rhubarb. It comes in a couple of different types that I know about, they have a red stalk or green stalk as the main difference.

Here’s a picture of the red stalk variety that we harvested from our garden. To remove the leaf from the plant you pull on it carefully with a twisting motion where it attaches to the plant being careful not to harm the plants main stem.

rhubarb.jpg
Red stalk rhubarb, f/2.4 1/407 4.3mm ISO50 – click for viewing full screen

After a long winter rainy season having something fresh from the garden is welcomed. The rhubarb plant seems to at least tolerate the weather around here but it doesn’t thrive really well. I’ve heard from friends that the green stalk variety has grown well for them.

This is the first year that the plant has done well enough to look like it could be harvested. You don’t want to take too much off the plant unless it is well established. This plant has been growing for a couple of seasons but is still very small.

In a warmer climate I think this plant would have spread out and made several more by now. It could be worth putting in a few of these plants if you want to harvest any significant amount.

Cooking

The stem on the leaf is the part that you want to eat. The leaves should not be eaten and are poisonous. (I’m not sure how poisonous but I’m not really tempted to find out)

You can eat the stem without cooking but it is pretty sour and not the best way to eat it imho, but if you have harvested a lot of it, you can have a quick snack if you like.

It cooks on the stove or the microwave very fast. Just cut it up into smaller pieces and cook covered. For a single stem like this, it only took around thirty seconds in the microwave to make a nice sauce. You can add a little sugar if you like and stir it while cooking too, whatever you like, its kind of hard to mess it up even if you try. (Well, leaving it on the stove top on high and walking a way for a while probably wouldn’t be the best plan, lol)

You can eat the sauce plain, serve it over ice cream, make it into a pie, etc. It goes well with strawberries if you have any of those around.

Anyhow, the single rhubarb stem we harvested made three little bowls like this:

rhubarbOnIceCream.jpg
Rhubarb on ice cream, f/1.5 1/370 4.3mm ISO50, color adjusted in GIMP – click for viewing full screen

It was good eating, but I was wishing I had more. It could be time to plant a few more rhubarb plants since it seems like it is not spreading. (You can’t really expect one lonely rhubarb plant to “go forth and multiply,” I suppose – especially with things eating it.)

Photographing

It was actually a bit difficult to get a realistic photo of the sauce for some reason. I took three different photos but the white balance and color didn’t look quite right. Even with adjustments in software the pink sauce kind of looked too red. Adjusting the picture in software can make it look better but here’s an original just as it came from the camera to show what I mean:

rhubarbMeat.jpg
I guess meat’s back on the table boys - oh wait that’s rhubarb, lol, f/1.5 1/60 4.3mm ISO64 – click for viewing full screen

I used the special ‘food’ photography mode of the S9+ and I’m not sure if that was changing the way the color came out or what. The combination of natural light and fluorescent lights made for an interesting picture. I keep trying different things and it is fun to learn more about the camera.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I cant wait until the snow is gone and my rhubarb comes up, im here to meet other gardeners so ive left you a vote and a follow maybe you will like my blog and follow back, come have a look :)

It is wonderful to harvest what we plant, we spring, and most of the plantations come with wonderful harvest، good luck my dear friend @lightsplasher 👍👍😃, all the best for you 😉

So cool @lightsplasher could be a better way to eat a fresh vegetable? i think no i hope people can plant their own food and avoid all the preservant that we can see today in almost all food. Regards

Getting something fresh from your garden tastes very good and saves having to go to the store to buy it. Rhubarb stays better preserved in the garden until you need it too. I think harvesting a little bit encourages the plant to grow new leaves too.

@lightsplasher sya has never seen that plant I've shared this plant so my friend knows about it

How do you think a friend if we plant rhubarb in other season besides spring does the friend friend @lightsplasher..?

image

Thank you very much to you my good friend who has given good news about the news that I am very happy about rhubarb maybe you are interested in my photo is my friend @lightsplasher.?

https://steemit.com/photography/@burhanuddin/the-most-beautiful-unique-insect-c458d6067e7ca

I think you can plant rhubarb later in the season so long as it gets established before it gets cold in the winter. You might have to water it more in the summer though.

That looks like a picture of Swiss chard, you can eat the leaves and stem if it is.

Maybe this is again summer @lightsplasher i honestly say i have never seen that plant i will share this post let me many friends who are in steemit know about this plant @lightsplasher

Thank you so much for your friend @lightsplasher who has given me a very meaningful suggestion for me to be a science in the process of planting this rhubarb if I will plant in summer. Maybe you like my post this friend @lightsplasher. https://steemit.com/photography/@burhanuddin/the-most-beautiful-unique-insect-c458d6067e7ca

Good post friends @lightsplasher harvest rhubarb in the spring what fun anymore in accompanied with a beloved wife.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The combination of natural light and florescent lights made for an interesting picture.
It should be fluorescent instead of florescent.

Nice catch, thanks for letting me know. I edited the text.

that's a nice notion comrade @lightsplasher.

All your photos were lovely. I thought:)

It is funny how tastes change. When I was a kid, I would eat rhubarb raw and just loved it. Unripe crab apples were another of my favourites. I have to admit I still like things a little sour but raw rhubarb is not for me anymore. I have tried it in a pie with apples ... it was amazing that way:)

Thank you. Tastes do change a bunch, that's for sure. Apple pie with rhubarb is really nice, I agree.

.every time I see a photo of my friend's garden @lightsplasher I feel very happy because I really like to grow crops, me and my Sabbath @lighatsplasher have the same hobby, I really like to farm, thanks my friend because you have seen, part of the hobby, you , and your hobby is, part of my pleasure

image
image

.we have the same hobby of farming I really like farming

image
https://steemit.com/esteem/@abdurrahman7/greater-than-all-the-animals-that-exist-on-this-earth-are-the-creation-of-god-almighty-we-as-human-beings-are-obliged-to-keep-b2594c07bbf62

It looks like you have a lot of plants growing in your garden. Very nice.

.Yes, indeed I have a lot of cucumber plants that I plant in my garden, still, karna, during this country in our summer again, so the team is not good, the ground was cracked jidi cracked now my friend @lightsplasher,

image
image

I have never seen a plant like that
@lightsplasher so with the food in that bowl I will always follow the post with resteem thanks, @lightsplasher have met this flower gardened 201804161523860368096.jpg

image

this is indeed a very suitable plant to cultivate my good friend @lightsplasher.

image

and you might also like this flower.

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@marwan1mx/photos-of-flowers-are-very-beautiful-and-interesting-b9e19ec5de8f6

image

this plant is very good for the cultivation because this plant has an increasingly growing puppies, so if I think later the results would be very satisfying. thanks for the information of my beloved friend @lightsplasher.

I am very good friend harvest rhubarb I want to ask you friend whether harvest rhubarb must be in spring aja friend @lightsplasher.

I think you could harvest it year around if you had the right growing conditions. In most climates, I've experienced, it does not grow much in the winter and could be covered with snow. In the hot part of the summer it can stop growing too. If you planted enough of it, you might be able to harvest something though.

I think of harvesting it more in the spring because it grows a lot faster then and it is one of the first things ready in the garden.

Thanks a lot for the news his friend i really need experience like you and i will try untu this time as you give way to plant it if i succeed i will give news to you friend for planting the first time friend @lightsplasher.
Maybe you liked my post friend @lightsplasher. https://steemit.com/photography/@sitirahmadewi/rhubarb-tree-trunk-with-myriad-benefits-for-the-body-e5c8649dfebcc

I always wondered why they couldn't just make strawberry pies instead of the strawberry rhubarb combo that we usually see but I guess it's because they just compliment each other. The east coast is warming up lately, hopefully we'll have some vegetation to speak of pretty soon...

It seems like a strawberry pie would be good. Maybe the flavors compliment each other like you said. Often times it seems like tart fruit is mixed with sweet fruit in pies and things. Blackberry jam tastes better with a bit of lemon in it I've found, (plus it thickens better).

Could it be that the rhubarb helps thicken up the pie filling?

I tried to google the answer and I think it's the sweet and sour combo that makes it work or at least that is the only information that I could find. In any case, I would still like to find a strawberry pie around here. They have blue berry and raspberry, might as well have strawberry too.

Thank you for sharing this information @lightsplasher and very useful to us all.

Wooow its amazing and wonderfull Great writing thanks for sharing keep it up You are doing great job

The season is very beautiful
A very beautiful picture is a fun harvest😎😎

Its look so nice and the food is looking deliciouse and tasty Hope you have good day

Postingan bagus dan cantik,saya resteem blog kamu @lightplasher silahkan lihat blog saya kawan terimakasuh

DQmd51Xsqz4quCziBvhjcVssncagtATEAXo5QWAkqVBfoHV_1680x8400.jpeg

That’s so cool! I tried growing rhubarb in my garden years ago but it didn’t do very well. Probably too hot for it here in North Carolina. Yours look great though and the recipe sounds delish. I should give it a whirl. Thank you!

Informasi yang sangat berguna @lightsplasher, sehingga saya bisa mengambil ilmu masakan yang leazat untuk di makan

I really like you dare to try with new things and you also get a satisfactory result. very nice work comrade @lightsplasher.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:54:28
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 122.35/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is post resteemed and upvote by @roniandika

wow very nice vegetable i like this vegetable
thanks for share with us

all thinks are very nice and your photography are so nice

it seems that in my area there is no such plant, but that is almost the same there, whose stem leaves can be made vegetables.

photography is very good @lightplasher this must be very good. thank you for sharing.I hope one moment can be like you

Good post, thanks for sharing information @lightsplasher

Good post and cool @lightsplasher

very cool it was dear friend I @lightsplasher it looks very nice and I want to try it, but if his example has not been cooked may not be so good,

very nice and very nice i like it very much on the leaves it is my good friend @lightsplasher

the leaves are very pretty and still fresh-fresh is very good to eat and certainly a lot of his profits that because it's nice

very nice in my opinion see and i like on the leaf is my best friend @lightsplasher and it's very tasty food that is in cooking it looks very delicious. and the leaf picture below can also be fed and sold for sale
image

*every time I see a photo of my friend's garden @lightsplasher I feel very happy because I really like to grow crops, me and my Sabbath @lighatsplasher have the same hobby, I really like to farm, thanks my friend because you have seen, *

image

Its very nice to harvest and coocking what have we plant, fresh vegetables from our garden is more safety to our health then we buy its, success always for you @lightsplasher, thank you very much

image

this is a very beautiful butterfly that I photograph in front of my home page. hope you like his good friend @lightsplasher.

https://steemit.com/photography/@anwars/butterflies-are-very-pretty-and-interesting-8083931522777

This is quite an educative post for me, the whole thingy being so unfamiliar. Besides, the idea of a poisonous leaf with an edible stem is quite a marvel!

Sangat alami tanaman nya sehingga bisa di olah menjadi makanan, yang lezat

.hi friends how are you friends today, hopefully you are in to healthy health always and no less something, today i send something for you friend hope you happy to receive her

image

.photos and videos I intentionally take to my friend @lightsplasher hopefully my best friend @lightsplasher likes his thanks

https://steemit.com/esteem/@abdurrahman7/greater-than-there-are-several-types-of-grasshoppers-are-very-unique-and-beautiful-on-this-earth-8ebf8810b773b

A very good job @lightsplasher I like the way you are

do you think the picture that i photo this how opinion from you i use galaxy J7 +

image

image

vegetables are very useful and nutritious comrades

I have never seen a plant like that @lightsplasher so with the food in that bowl I will always follow the post with resteem thanks @lightsplasher

Beautiful and yummy!

it is a very perfect harvest and shallow for me which is very useful and highly informative posting of all the steemian

Thank you for this very interesting post. We have similar plant in our country, but it grows wild. I never tryed to use it's leaves before, but the petioles of leaves are very testy in jam. And very good for stomachace.

This varietal plant is very beautiful what its usefulness?
and the processed it looks good once thank FOR sharing teacher @lightsplasher :-) :-) :-)

wonderful :-):-):-):-)
This varietal plant is very beautiful,
and the processed it looks good once thank FOR sharing teacher @lightsplasher :-) :-) :-)

visit me teacher ,,,This varietal plant is very beautiful
and the processed it looks good once thank FOR sharing teacher @lightsplasher :-) :-) :-)
I miss you brother

wow posting a very good and to infect @lightsplasher I really like this plant, thanks for the information.

image

There are 2 pages
Pages