You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Backyard Garden Update : we have veggies set!

in #gardening6 years ago

I think a part of last year's problem was that I fertilized them almost exclusively with fish emulsion and it's got a high nitrogen ratio compared to potash and potassium, which is really what the tomatoes needed for fruiting. The vine was vigorous thanks to the fish emulsion. Not making that mistake this year, and it's already paid off, green tomato-wise.

KIMG0404.jpg

Here's hoping you get a big harvest this year!

Sort:  

Omg fish emulsion for the vines eh? Lord knows i have alkali tap water and loads of fish water. Plus chicken poo. I guess my best bet is to collect the wood ash and sprinkle it

Just make sure to work the ashes into the soil a bit, otherwise you risk making lye when you water.

Chicken poo is almost as magical as unicorns.

Oh wow, I am so glad you warned me about lye before I went and killed everything out there! Whew.

Hehe, chicken poo-nicorns 😏