Our New Garden

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

I gotta say there is nothing quite as pretty as a garden even when the fencing is wire and t posts, even when there is hardly anything growing. Every time I catch a glimpse out of the corner of my eye I get a goofy grin on my face. I have been imagining how pretty our house will look with a garden up front, my imaginings came close! I can see why people make their entire front lawns into gardens. If you’ve ever seen the front of The Elliot Homestead THAT is something to aspire to. I can’t wait to see what it looks like full of plants!!

28822175_10209001986966785_1819129004_o.jpg
I am loving this beautiful little farmscape! (we are still working on covering the garden so ignore the grass)

As many of you probably know we have been planning on relocating our garden since the end of the season last year. Our previous garden didn’t seem to get enough sunlight so we made plans to move it to our front yard. Well it’s finally done! Not nearly to the scale we were hoping but we made the fencing out of T-posts and welded wire so it will be easy to expand for next year. Right now it’s about 530 sq ft but will be expanded to 4,000 sq ft in the future. I think that will be plenty of space to feed our future family.

28693705_10215370234034519_426785054_o.jpg

Fencing in the garden wasn’t in the budget just yet. I jumped the gun and bought some organic plant starts at Home Depot (I had that spring itch). Then of course the very next day a duck killed one of the roma tomato plants and thus fencing was necessary IMMEDIATELY! Thankfully we were able to make it work and thus save our other plants, at least for now. So far the ducks have not attempted to get into the garden but we’ll have to see how that goes.

28832545_10209001986566775_1455954673_n.jpg
(One of the roma tomato plants)

We will still be planting in last year’s garden. There was an established blueberry plant in the back part of our fenced in yard and our dogs also like to tear it apart so the fence had to stay up anyway. Since cucumbers did relatively well there last year we will be planting a couple varieties of those plus a strawberry and pineapple plant, both of which are experiments.

28877362_10209001987246792_194888097_o.jpg
(Supposedly you can plant the top of a pineapple and it will grow. We shall see....)

I'm extremely excited for this years gardening season. Fingers crossed it goes better than last year and we can actually try our hand at canning!!

How is your garden coming along?

Check Out Our Recent Articles:

My Problem with Essential Oils
Our New Rabbit Tractor
The Gardening Season Has Begun!!

You Can Follow Us On:
Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I would get those trees cut down. Then grow some fruit bushes along the road as a barrier both of the road and wind. Or even some grape vines.

Unfortunately, front yard gardens are not legal everywhere. Mostly illegal in cities or neighborhoods with HOAs that want to protect curb appeal and house prices.

That's when you have to get inventive with plants that are both decorative AND edible.

Exactly! We will also be putting in edible landscaping which anyone who can't have a front yard garden could do!

Yes they are getting cut down eventually but there are over 30 so it will be expensive. There will be a fence and a privacy tree line. Thankfully we made sure our property didn't have any of those restrictions before we bought it 😊

I want to get rid off all the trees in my yard. Probably will cost between $3-5k, which is why it is on the back burner of all the other things that need to be done. Until then, my growing area is very limited, even in the front yard.

This is still sunnier than our previous location so we'll see how it goes. We're still trying to find the cheapest way to get them cut down. We really want to make them into flooring

...or raised garden beds.

nah 4000 sq ft of raised beds would be a total pain and we need new flooring. I'd rather amend the current soil with animal waste and plant right in the ground

Sorry to hear about the tomato casualty. Glad to hear, tho, that it was only one plant. Pesky ducks! Looks like you'll have plenty of room for more, plus it's early enough in the season that it shouldn't hurt the production.

Oh, and just fyi - blueberries aren't toxic to dogs. They'll just get the runs if they eat too many. Our furkid gets six frozen ones a day as a treat. They're even more fun when you're on vacation:

Idk I've always seen that the plant is not safe for dogs. I've adjusted it

Hmmmmm... you got me curious, so I did a little more research. The only thing I can see is a possibility of an allergic reaction, just like some humans. I did find a really comprehensive list at the Pet Poison Helpline that I've bookmarked for personal use.

Thanks for bringing up the issue!

Thanks for correcting me. I've seen people giving their dogs blueberries before but some dogs don't react the same as others so I always avoided it.

They must have been sensitive critters and if I'd seen some have reactions, I'd avoid the berries, too. Better safe than sorry when making that call.

How awesome to start the garden! You're ahead of me in Georgia, I can't believe you're planting tomatoes at this point! I won't be doing that for a month in North Carolina!

Me neither! This is our second garden here and we started late last year.

Yes, you can plant the top of a pineapple and have it grow. I have done it and managed to get a puny pineapple for my effort! Perhaps it didn't get enough sun where I planted it...

This is mostly for shits and giggles. We have 2 pineapple plants ordered for our edible landscaping

I finally got a Pinapple top to grow. Third or fourth time lucky!

Dang I wonder what happened with the first few. Hubby likes pineapple on his pizza and when he was done cutting it up he asked me what he should do with the top. I said go plant it haha lets see what happens!

I'm guessing it will be because of our dry climate. They prefer a more tropical environment. This time I put it in a place that seems to retain moisture better.

ahhhhh yah that could do it. How long has it been there?

It's been there offer a year now. It hasn't grown much though and took a few months to put out some roots. Hopefully now it's got some roots down it will start growing more next season.