Winter voodoo

in #gardeninglast year

Two years ago I got myself a pair of voodoo lilies. It is probably this one, I even had the name written on the pot, but the writing didn't survive.

They both bloomed first and next year around end of March. Right after the flowers withered, the tubers started to produce leaves (one per tuber) and it was time to move them to the balcony where they spent their time until October. Last year, one of the tubers grew a lot, more than doubled its volume, also spawned a lot of offspring, to the point that I had to cut the plastic pot it was occupying, because it got stuck. The other one also multiplied, but its subtubers are a lot smaller. It is funny how small difference in the placement can have big impact on the growth of the plant. The size of pot was the same, the soil was the same, they got all the same water and nutrition. The one that grew a lot more had just a bit more exposure to the elements. Strange it turned out to be for good, since voodoo lilies are supposed to prefer shade.

But I digress. Around October the leaves died, which indicated it was time for the plants to be relocated. I pulled the pots they were in from the ground, removed, separated and cleaned the tubers and placed them in a cardboard boxes where they would have dry and dark environment, perfect for their couple months long winter sleep (eco eggs are expensive enough to come in nice sturdy boxes, just right for keeping tubers and bulbs). To my surprise, weeks before Christmas I noticed one of the boxes opened, pushed from the inside by growing flower bud.

What the hell did you do, stupid flower?! It is still three months too early!

At first I tried to keep it covered, but it turned out that once avalanche started there was no stopping it, so last week I moved fully developed flower to the light, where it could at least stay upright by leaning on the wall.

The flower bud looks like long, brown, pointy hood. Yesterday night it finally opened, but I only noticed in the morning (which is around 11 AM for me :o) ) right before I went to work, so I only took couple of pictures.

It does smell funny, but I'd say it is only slightly nauseating sweet scent, not strong rotting meat as I expected when I bought it. I have two other plants that open their flowers at night (Sansevieria cylindrica and some Hoya) - they both have pleasant smells but very strong, they take over the room when they bloom. Smell of voodoo lily only becomes too strong when you stick your nose into the flower :o)

The lily opens for one night only. Since I noticed it right before work, when I got back it was already closed - damn, I lost my chance to pollinate it.

There is no indication it would be growing its leaf now, so I wonder if I should put it back to the box once the flower wilts... I guess I'll see in a week or two.

Hopefully I'll get my chance for pollination with another one (or maybe some of new tubers will be mature enough to bloom this year?). Why would I want the fruits and seeds when I have plenty of new tubers? Because I think it is fun, I'm interested if I can do it. So far I only truly succeeded with elephant's ear, but I keep trying :o)

Other lilies don't seem to want to wake up at the moment. Some of them have small pointy protrusions indicating which way is "up", but that's about it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @miosha! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!