You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Helping Pollinators While Beautifying Your Landscape

in #gardening5 years ago

You’ve been visited by @walkerland on behalf of Natural Medicine!

This is such an important message and the photographs are BEAUTIFUL! Have you seen pollinator hotels before? I've been wanting to make one for ages just as extra insurance that they all have somewhere safe to live. Sometimes I'll be gardening and lift up some straw to find bees sleeping and I'll carefully place the straw back and leave them. Until I moved here I didn't actually know that some bees sleep in the ground.

We have a large pasture area that we'll be tilling up this year and turning into new gardens, with plenty of wild flower ground cover and whatever else we can manage. It is going to be quite a job. My husband raised pigs our first year and he's given me the area (wooho) because we really aren't confined animal type people. He just needed the experience to learn that. I feel like I've won the lottery because it's all fenced in and the pig shelter is beautiful - perfect for sheltering the beehives.

The honey bee house will be right in the center (no honey bees yet, hoping this is the year). It is such fun to plan out a garden with pollinators in mind plus, often the plants they gravitate towards are good for our health as well.

Loved your post! :)



50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking the amounts above. We love to support those on a healing journey or writing about natural health wisdoms. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you.