You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: .

in #gardening6 years ago

Your planting looks ok but soil is not a good idea if you want to cook and eat your shoots, because you are unlikely to get all the soil particles off when you wash them for cooking. This is going to give a sandy texture to your dish. Always sprout cooking sprouts in a container without soil

Sort:  

🙀 But the instructions said to use soil 😿 I don't want sand in my food.
I had a look online and noticed some grew without soil in a tray and others grew them on top of soil only. I don't feel confident I would succeed without soil because my previously seeds I had grown without soil didn't grow as good. So I decided to go with the later. I had a look and I am not too late to fix it, only about half had started to germinate. It took me a while but I got all the seeds out and washed/drain/soak/rinse over and over to get the soil off. I took out soil from the tub and left about 2cm. The instructions said to put a lid on it to keep it in the dark til it grows and reaches the lid. I didn't have a lid so I used foil to cover it up. Now it looks like a lunch box. lol. I hope this will be ok. Thanks for the heads up @nikv!

20180510_141414.jpg

Hopefully that will work better. I really like my homegrown spinach but it drives me crazy when you wash it well, discard the cooking water and still end up with crunchy food