Tree Planting And Garden Update

in #gardening6 years ago

IMG_20180428_194243.jpg

Hello, Steemians! Welcome back to my balcony garden. The mystery tree has woken up! I still am not sure what kind of tree this is. Usually volunteer trees are Trees Of Heaven, which are an invasive species here and will grow in a rock if you let them, but that's not what this one is. There are two other trees in the parking lot just coming into leaf, one of them closer and timed exactly with this one, so I have to remember to inspect them up close and see if they match. From a distance, the leaves look paler and maybe not as ridged, but maybe that's because mine is a baby tree? ¯_(ツ)_/¯ I'll figure it out as the season progresses.

I traded the SBD raised for the Arbor Day Foundation into BCH hours ago, but it seems to be taking its sweet time changing from "pending" to "available" in my Coinbase account so I can sell it for fiat and donate! Cernunos on a cracker. I wonder how long the sell will take? I've never converted to Bitcoin Cash before. Anyway, I'll make an official post once dollars are in the hands of the ADF (hahaha, Druid humor: that's also the acronym for a major North American Druid group). All total, there was 8.202 SBD, just shy of $30 when I sold it. We're gonna plant a grove, y'all! 🌳🌲🌴

IMG_20180428_194337.jpg

I made Official Decisions regarding the flower seedlings today. I was planting all old seeds and wasn't sure how many would take. So I pulled any pots that had nothing going by now that were way past their germination times (I left the Bells of Ireland, which can take over a month to germinate!). The winners seem to be mixed variety packets packed for 2013. Hooray!

IMG_20180428_194332.jpg

So I will have mystery flowers as well, at least until I can identify any of them. There are a few struggling corn poppies dated for 2015, but I've never had them make it past baby stage before, so please send some good juju to my flowers! :)

IMG_20180428_194433.jpg
Poppies poppies poppies poppies Dorothy... Dorothy...

I have a second tomato sprout too, so hopefully I get more noms this year than last!

IMG_20180428_194225.jpg
Yuan approves of more plants in his kingdom

Also on the tee planting front, I am trying my hand at planting some apple tree seeds. These are from I think a Gala apple. I know fruit seeds aren't supposed to produce identical fruit, yadda, yadda, but if I get trees, period, I'm happy. Wish us luck!

IMG_20180428_194218.jpg

That's about it from the apartment homestead in the sky. Hope y'all are having a good Caturday!

IMG_20150813_195220.jpg
Caturdaaaaaaaaay! (Old photo of Maggie)

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Get SEED in an airdrop, for a crypto Farmville type game: http://ref.bits.farm/?code=NDU3ODg=

Sort:  

Hmm, interesting tree. I feel like I have seen leaves like that before so I should know what it is but it isn't coming to me right now.

Me too. I'll figure it out as it gets bigger.

I think it is an elm tree. At least that is what the leaves look like to me.

Ooh, with that in my head I pulled out the Audubon book I have and I think it's a Siberian Elm, which would be REALLY prefect for my area.
"Habitat: dry regions, tolerant of poor soils and city smoke, also scattered in most soils along streams."
Yay! I think that's it! Thanks for the hint!

No problem!

today I also do the same work with you.Lol
I'm measuring green plants for agricultural materials.

Oh cool, what kind of plant is that?

it's a lemon plant

I've donated to ADF before, and they've relentlessly plagued me with junk mail ever since! But I appreciate the work they do, so I'll support them again :) and it's awesome that you collected for them as well!

I like your cats :)))

Yeah, charities do that in general. I haven't had money to regularly donate to anyone for a long time, but I still get mail. Just a week or two ago, I got a free tote bag from MSF/Doctors Without Borders. I love their work, but probably haven't donated to them for at least three years because poverty. You'd think the unsolicited gifts would go to regular donors!
My cats appreciate your admiration. 😸😸

a fun job to fill the day off.

Nice donation, thank you for making it so easy to contribute. Which way does your balcony face, does it get much sun? I've seen some beautiful balcony gardens, like little arbours.

My balcony faces south, which is nice; but only the ledges really get sun due to a taller building to the south and solid walls. So I line the ledges with plants, and maybe one or two large pots on the ground in the sun puddles. ;)

I'm investigating shade loving plants for parts of my garden, but I guess most food producing plants appreciate some hours of sunlight. I'm pleased to have learned about food forests, I'm starting to have lots of ideas 😊