Gardening - part 2

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_20170413_120150.jpg

The old milk containers that I started with were great in March, but as soon as the sun found its heat in April, the garlic started to yellow. We had a few meals with some green garlic, but not a lot. I think I will go back to those in the autumn.

We've got together a few pots, and with some very sandy soil from down by the ocean, and a small amount of compost, a few things are looking reasonably healthy. There's one strong tomato plant, and a pumpkin that survived a careless transplant. We bought a rosemary plant - it's still alive - and my wife found a small aloe vera root, which I'm sure will flourish in time.

More excitingly, I've just heeled in some mint roots that came with the bundle we bought in the market a few days ago. Mint's hard to kill, and I'm told it will keep the mosquitos away.

Wanted now are more pots, but the stall here in the market has them only infrequently.