Raspberry Mornings, Rusty Garlic, Yellows and Rain: Garden Late November

in #gardeninglast year (edited)

Every summer on Hive for the last five years I've posted about garden smoothies, but I think this year is the first year I've had enough raspberries to pick to throw in one! What a delight it's been to go and pick my own for breakfast. With mangoes in season too, I'm in heaven - - though I can't pick them as they don't grow down here!

Today's smoothie is raspberries, calendula, lemon balm, linseeds, coconut yoghurt, water and frozen banana, and a spoonful of turkeytail mushroms for good measure, as well as a squeeze of lime which just give it a really good tang.

IMG20221123102124.jpg

IMG20221123102547.jpg

The rain might actually disappear for a few hours over the next few days so I can assess the garden a little better. I have a lot of weeding to do, and have just started on the paths. Every year I keep meaning to put more gravel down but the thuoght of shovelling it kills me.

IMG20221125134530.jpg

The beautiful irises are still budding which just delights me - I purposefully planted them outside the kitchen window and their bright yellow cheers me up and distracts me from the failures this year. I also love these west Australian flowers whose name eludes me.

IMG20221125134520.jpg

The broad bean crop just didn't produce and kinda wilted and died which was so wierd, and the garlic got rust so all I got is a heap of tiny cloves.

Still, there are small fruits budding on the pear tree, and the tomatoes seem happy enough. I can't believe it flooded so much in the bottom half of the property that the greenhouse floor had puddles. Crazy. The rabbits must be unhappy with this wet but still I'm sure they've found somewhere else to dig and ruin.

The cox's orange pippin is bearing fruit - I must net the trees soon!

IMG20221125134639.jpg

The blackcurrants are also fruiting. I love them in smoothies and vinegars - extra bursts of tart vitamin c.

IMG20221125134654.jpg

In the front garden, which I rarely share, the grapevine is in leaf, ready to provide summer shade. Summer starts in days, officially, although they are saying we may not have much of one this year.

IMG20221125132814.jpg

See this banksia? Can you see the bright green leaves and the darker ones below? That's what Australian natives are going to do after all this rain - throw out a LOT of growth.

IMG20221125132754.jpg

There's so much to do in the garden I really need to spend a dedicated few days out there! Hopefully I'll do so before the #gardenjournal challenge starts Dec 1st.

How is your garden growing?

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  

It's not growing at all. My helper did a soil sampling for testing on Friday and the ground had started to freeze under the mulch... We were none too soon doing it.

Winter is here! I mean there!

Wow, you already have raspberries so early in the season? I don't really know much about the seasons in Australia though... I'm sure you'll find the inspiration to get a lot of work done in the garden, you talk so much about how much you love it 🙂

I hope you are doing well.

xx

I have hardly got any done at all! Too wet and today too hot.... ! But yes, these are an early fruiting variety that are usually ripening now.

Good to see your garden coming alive. Just in time as winter sets in here. Maybe it will give me hope in the dark depths of winter 😅

I'll post more if it gives you hope!

Your garden is thriving regardless..

It's good to see..
I love the raspberry by the way😊

raspberries are so delicious! My hubs hates the seeds but I don't understand why he chews them 😂

Lol...
Probably that's the only way he can manage to take it down his stomach 😊🤣

Such a beautiful garden 🥰