Power of Yuk! Diary of a compost heap - week 3

in #gardening4 years ago

Its been a funny week weather wise, warm at the beginning of the week and much colder in the last few days with spatterings of rain.

I can imagine this will make for a mixed bag of decomposition in the heap, so lets see whats been occurring.

Last week:

image.png

This week:

20200605_112420.jpg

A few of the grapes are still holding out, how much longer can they go for?! Things are squishing down, but its slower progress than I expected, suppose the colder wetter weather may be having a bigger impact than I expected.

We are still feeding the compost daily, so all this stuff is going somewhere...

Sort:  

I don't check on my heap that often, but eventually it all turns to brown stuff. Giving it a stir now and then may help get some air in.

I'm just curious to see what happens, weird I know.