Power of Yuk! Diary of a compost heap - week 5

in #gardening4 years ago

Another week of significantly mixed weather, but not cold. I was beginning to think the heap could not take much more material, but its like a TARDIS in there, it just keeps taking more scraps!

As a reminder last week we had a new arrival of an aubergine:
20200613_142128.jpg

Lets see whats happened this week:

20200620_170042.jpg

That soft aubergine has decomposed really fast, I reckon it will be almost gone next week. The green leaf on the left is some pruning from a viburnum that seems to have made its way down the heap somehow. The stick starting in the top-middle, seems to be looking a little softer.

Its supposed to get to 30 degrees C this week, so expect things might really pick up a apace, but we will see next week.

Sort:  

It's really starting to pick up pace now.

Yeah, I guess its the consistently warmer weather

Are you seeing many worms in there? They will mix things up. Some of my bins are full of them, but others don't seem to have any, even after I transferred some. I guess the mix has to be right for them.

I cant really look in the top of the bin very easily, its nestled between two large Laurel shrubs at the far end of our garden, I can get the bin lid off but looking in isn't easy. Cant see any worms in the front, but last week when I pulled the lid off a worm dropped out, so I'm hoping we have some in there.

Seeing any worms is good. I expect you to install a Raspberry Pi with an infrared camera to give us a live feed from Compostcam!

Hmmmm..... hahaha