You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Urban Gardening. One more way to save the planet

in #gardening5 years ago

I have a couple of tires around, never thought about doing potatoes. I have done something similar with cinder blocks. Same concept, just add another row as needed!

Sort:  

yep. plus it keeps them out of the landfill. right now my rhubarb patch has been exploding in size and im finding little rhubarbs popping up in random places a good 10' away from the existing plants. I may throw a big root in a stack and see if it sets shop in there, would be a great way to contain it if so... and would open up the area for horseradish that I was wanting to plant but didn't have the room

Hum...I planted rhubarb for the first time this year....how does it spread to somewhere else?

Now for those tires....where to put them in the yard?

it started out as one little plant which got so big that I had to relocate it, but the root was so big that it ended up breaking into 4 pieces. they all grow now, and later in season when they bolt and seed I end up with little baby rhubarb plants popping up by the potato stacks