You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Certified Organic: What's Behind the Label? Is It Good for Small Farms or Consumers? (DTube Daily Vlog)

in #gardening6 years ago

I will say that local is more important than organic to me. I would buy from the farmer's market first. Once at the market, I would definitely prefer organic, but I always talked with all the farmers there, so I didn't give two shits if they were certified or not. That said, I hardly think I represent the masses. I think a lot of people want to buy organic but they don't want to go to the effort of the farmer's market or developing relationships with farmers. They're gonna look for the sticker. I guess it just depends on what you have going there in your area.

Sort:  

Ya, it totally is dependent on what you value and the options available to you, many folks prefer convenient options over others. Perhaps even if the less convenient ones are more ethical...

I agree, it's all about really talking to folks, getting to know your food and forgetting the labels. It can sometimes be tough though.. I talked to a blueberry producer who tried to convince we that glyphosate (roundup) didn't effect human Health. Yet another reason to know your food.

Wowsers. The effects of glyphosate are pretty well documented. The capacity of the human mind to deceive itself is sort of astounding. Yeah. Knowing your farmer may be as important as knowing your food.