🌱 Home Gardening - My Seed and Nutrient Suppliers

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow gardening enthusiasts. I wanted to take some time to review my favorite suppliers for seeds, nutrients, and misc supplies I use for my hydroponic and container gardens.

Seed-Buying-Catalogs-SteemPowerGarden.png

Since I usually don't have a set "growing season" here in South Florida, we grow all year long, I have to make sure my seed stash and supplies are on hand for constant rotation. I have been asked many times along the way here on Steemit where I buy my seeds from, which varieties are the best and so on.

I can only give you the sources from where I purchase, but as far as giving advice on which varieties are better... that's a grey area since it depends on on so many factors including your local climate. I have spent years testing different varieties against each other and slowly finding the best suited for our weather here and the type of systems I grow in. If you live anywhere from Orlando, FL and South, sure, you will prob have similar results with the seeds I use.


My seed supply bucket.

My Favorite Seed Suppliers

Over the years I have purchased from a dozen different suppliers and even from local Home Depot and Lowes stores as I searched for the best performers. In the end these are my go-to sources for the seed reliability and service:

1) Johnny Selected Seeds

http://www.johnnyseeds.com
On average 70% of my seed supply comes from Johnny's. The quality of the seeds and germination rate is high and they will replace a packet if the majority of them fail to germinate under "normal" conditions. I grow the bulk of my Cucumbers (Tyria, Diva, Jade) and Peppers (Carmen, Antohi Romanian) from Johnny's, as well as my high-yield Tomatoes (Climstar and SuperSweet Cherry). The majority of my herb seeds also come from Johhny's.

2) Burpee

http://www.burpee.com
I only buy a few seed types from Burpee, but they are some of the more exotic varieties I grow such as the GIANT SteakHouse Hybrid tomato (over 1lb each) , Yellow Currant tomato, and 9-10" long multi-color peppers called Sweet Thing. I have never had any issues with bad supply or germination.

3) Park Seed

https://parkseed.com
Park is the newest place I have have come across, although I don't buy a lot of seed stock from them, I do my my live/dormant stocks like Strawberries from Park. So far so good on those. We will see how well they yield coming into the spring. I have also done a post about the seed starting Bio Domes they sell., they do a good job a keeping a controlled environment for getting new plants started.

I used to buy a lot from Sustainable Seed Company, but over time found the seeds would fail faster in batches over time and replaced my stock with those from Johnny's.

My Nutrients Suppliers

Morgan County Seeds (The one and only!)
https://www.morgancountyseeds.com
Although I don't use them for seeds, I count on them as a bulk supplier of dry mix commercial grade nutrients, net cups, and supplies. I buy my nutrients in individual parts in bulk ( Master Blend, Calcium Nitrate, Magnesium Sulphate ) and mix them myself into 2-part concentrated liquids that I can easily measure out into my hydroponic systems. They have been around a long time and still handle order "the old fashion way", it's type of customer service you just can't find many places any more. They do have an updated website now, but they will still give you one-on-one service if you prefer that route.

I hope this helps.

Be sure to swing by the websites and request a catalog from each of them. Don't be afraid to try new varieties and test them against your old favorites, you never know when a new seed will come along and win you over.

This week I will be starting my new batch of seeds as I get ready to rebuild my gardens and get back to sustainable growing at home!



As you may know, I am an Official Community Advocate for the the Looking For Niche (LFN) project. The purpose is to help connect people with similar interests here on Steemit. Simply join the LFN Discord, it's free, and use the friendly WhaleBoT to enter your interest or "niche". It will reply with a list of other users registered with the same niche.

Example: Whalebot LFN Gardening

WhaleBoT will reply with: These other users are also interested in talkin' about "gardening"!

Find the Looking For Niche Discord Here:
https://discord.gg/gxMfe8J



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me
if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

You ever checked out Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds? Easily my #1 seed supplier - they offer some of the rarest and coolest heirloom varieties out there!

~ Kevin

I hadn't yet - but just went to the site to request a catalog. Thank you!

I got my halifax seed company catalogue in the mail yesterday. I am so giddy

Thank you for providing your sources. It would be great to be able to grow outside year long, but with 4 robust seasons in Michigan, I get to look forward to spring every year.

Thanks for your recommendations! Upvoted and following