🌱 Home Hydroponics Gardening ~ Outdoor System Update (05/1/2018)

Garden-Update-05012018-01-PowerPics.png

Hello my fellow gardening enthusiasts.

It's time for another update from my outdoor hydroponics garden. My last update was 15 days ago and since then the plants have matured nicely and are providing quite an abundance of food for us. At this time the vines are strong and healthy with only a few nuisance pests every so often on the leaves, but nothing major to speak of.

Garden-Update-05012018-02-PowerPics.png
Climstar 'Smooth Cluster' Tomatoes along the side fence trellis.

As you can see in the top image, my tomato vines are suspended by a cross beam and hang down on hemp string lines supported by vine clips. This year, the Better Bush plant is putting a lot more weight than other vines in the past so I added a piece of 1"x2" as a vertical brace to support it just in case. As I mentioned in my last post, this is the first time I am growing this 'determinate' variety in hydroponics and it has become massive in size and loaded with tomatoes.

Garden-Update-05012018-03-PowerPics.png
Left: Better Bush 'Ugly' Hybrid ~||~ Right: Climstar 'Smooth Cluster'

I also use heavy-gauge zip-ties to create loops around the beam as a fail-safe in case the strings ever break. So each vine is primarily supported by the hemp string and clips, and also by a zip-tie loop and clip. I have a close-up picture showing this below.

There are now 6 main stems on this plant with 78 tomatoes at various stages of ripening and 12 more flower clusters mixed in. This plant is definitely a beast. I am currently rooting 3 offshoot branches I but off last week to make sure I keep this one going.

Garden-Update-05012018-04-PowerPics.png
Support Lines and Vine Clips on Better Bush 'Ugly' Hybrid Tomatoes

The other varieties are doing just as well. The cherry tomato vines are draped in long clusters, mostly doubles for some odd reason, but I will talk about this in another post this week.

As I drop the vines, I clip the clusters to the main stems along the way to keep them safe and out of the way. The process of dropping the vines is slow going and takes about 2 hours to complete as I carefully do this one at a time. I do this once a week as they grow up past the main support beam. The process is more complicated than it should be due to the small space I am growing in out front, but it's something that has to be done.

Garden-Update-05012018-05-PowerPics.png
SuperSweet Cherry Tomatoes, Shows the vines dropped.

I tried to get a good picture from behind the vines to show how I loop the vines back up along the fence as I drop them in the front. Given the confines space, coiling the stems around like you would a lasso or extension cord is the only way to safely place them out of the way without kinking or snapping them (Because that would suck!).

Garden-Update-05012018-06-PowerPics.png
View of the vines dropped and curled up in the back.

In my next gardening post I will discuss the oddity of having mostly double or triple clusters growing in my garden this year. Something I have never experienced before in my past 5 years of hydroponics gardening.




Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me
if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!

Thanks for reading!

🌱 Happy Gardening!

Side Note: As I start to expand to other platforms, I needed to evolve my username to be more generic. You will see me start to use "PowerPics" more often and move away from "SteemPowerPics" as I need to drop the "Steem" from my name.

Sort:  

Beautiful plants, you are making me jealous ;-)

I previously mentioned to you, I may have some questions in the future. For now I'm only growing indoor lettuce, since it is the simplest, and while I grow quite a lot and my lettuce looks great from far away lol, if you look closely you will find some outside tip burns. In some cases quite a lot :-(

I did some searching on the internet and I can see there are all kind of possible reasons for it, but generally tip burns happen because of calcium deficiency which can happen because of one or more of these combinations:

  • not enough calcium or magnesium
  • high temperature & low humidity
  • low temperature & high humidity
  • high sodium content
  • too high ppm (TDS)

Ideal TDS should be between 500 and 700ppm
Mine is around 900 but my tap water is 240 so nutrients adds less than 700. Now I wonder, should I decrease the nutrients solution a little bit to lower concentration?

I'm doing Kratky setup, no air. But solution seems clear and roots white enough. Humidity is on a low side, that's how it is here, but temp is not too high.

Do you happen to have any suggestion, tip?
Btw, would you happen to know, which lettuce is more resistant to noob mistakes, can tolerate more abuses and be more resilient for tip burn? ;-)

My solution per gallon: 2g masterblend, 2g calcium nitrate and 1g magnesium sulfate (epsom salt)

05.JPG

p.s.
Hey, @fuzzyvest, what about upvote for me? ;-)))

Hey there, I am using the same nutrient blend (MHPgardener)😉

For my indoor lettuce garden I was trying to keep it around 650ppm as well and on occasion will have tip burn as well but could not find a relation to high or low PPM. I tried from 500 to 900 range over the years and did/didn't have tip burn at all levels so I decided to blame the indoor A/C environment.

My favorite lettuce varieties are Buttercrunch, Green Ice, Red Oak, and Sparks Romaine - all from Johnny's Seeds. They seemed to grow the biggest and fastest in my systems. For me Buttercrunch and Romaine got the tip burn most often, the others did not.

Yes, from MHPgardener ;-)
Thanks, will try some you mentioned.

I love your hydroponic garden @steempowergarden! I follow you and thanks for sharing

it looks like your days are preoccupied with your tomato plants, plants and fruits look fertile and fresh, if this plant you do with the size of this vast garden must be one source of your currency. because I see you are so sure and great in this job.
may always be successful friends.

Congratulations @steempowergarden! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!