Summer update: Gardening and trees

in #gardening5 years ago

This year I've continued to grow trees from seed. In case you were wondering what I'm up to.

IMG_20190616_210631.jpg

No, not those kind of "trees", though I can legally grow up to 4 weed plants, my legal right as a Canadian. This year, in addition to working full time nights and trying to start my own business I've been focusing on reforestation and growing trees that can help clean the air and moderate our climate. Some of my favorite trees are evergreens, and firs are a great example. They have soft needles and smell great when you crush some between your fingers. In addition to the pleasant aroma, it produces a sticky resin that you can use for lighting a campfire quickly.

IMG_20190616_210911.jpg

My second favorite, spruces. These pointy needled trees are abundant and generally what you think of when imagining a Christmas tree. It's a fast growing species that can enjoy partial shade or full sun. That being said, it's easy to grow many at once even in the same pot - you just separate them later.

IMG_20190614_110227.jpg

Lastly, my prize possession (until I plant it into the ground) is this Giant Sequoia tree seedling. It's a big fucking tree to put it mildly, besides being the biggest tree in the world by volume the seedlings can grow exceptionally fast. Not all of them have rapid growth but every now and again you get lucky. This one is the biggest and from roughly 1 year ago. I already need to re-pot it again.

Overall I've had a good growing season so far and it's not even July yet. I look forward to sprouting and planting more trees in my area where there are none and watching them take hold and hopefully grow for decades and beyond. Here's a tree seedling I planted in the forest - lots of green growth this season and its situation is looking very positive.

IMG_20190606_124618.jpg

Are you doing your part? It's easy, just buy some tree seeds and add water. Note: This is only a hobby for those with patience, but it's worth the wait.

Hope you enjoyed this stonedfood cultivation update. Tune in next time for more trees.