You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knotilus Daily Pond ~ Beautiful Sunsets, The Life and Death of Ducks and Gardening Continues

in #gardening2 years ago

Yes! Drakie was our only male, so they’re both his babies ❤️

Still can’t believe she got anything out of that other nest. She’s been sitting for a really long time.

And I’m glad Tufty is staying in with his auntie and cousin more, I know it’s normal for him to be out swimming with momma and the other females, but there’s so much more danger in the pond.

Mink are excellent swimmers!

Sort:  

One of my crow friends in Germany rescued a fledgling crow and took it to a rehab center. The center also had a mink there, and it broke into the crow enclosure. 😥 They weren't sure how, either.

Wow that’s unreal! Poor crow. ☹️

They’re adorable creatures, but so crafty and bloodthirsty!
Most people here are aware of the danger, but they don’t have nearly as many around as we do.
It’s mainly escapees from the fur farm, which has a long history of ridiculous and negligent practices.

I think if I was living on a fur farm I would probably seek out all the negligence I could to escape, too. But I wouldn't attack people's babies.

I agree!

It’s not just letting them escape, for the first few years they did outrageous stuff, like pile all the dead mink carcasses in a heap and created a plague of flies that attacked the town. It was insane. Like black clouds on peoples houses. People couldn’t go outside.
And even now, when the wind blows from the North all we smell is the stench of mink poop and rot. It’s so bad.

That place makes me all kinds of sad. Some of the escaped mink will walk up to you like a lost puppy, expecting to be fed because they’re so domesticated. Breaks my heart.

So messed up!! I remember reading that a bunch of mink were culled (nice way to misspell killed to make it sound less barbaric) at the beginning of the pandemic because they thought they were carrying coronavirus. The mink industry just needs to be shut down. It's all kinds of wrong.