Taking a Gamble With Gardening

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Weather wise, it has been a strange year.

We hit a record high of 81 and we're EXTREMELY short on rain. We've had no snow at all this winter which definately isn't typical.

Anyway, I've decided to gamble.

Normally I wouldn't be planting greens for another six weeks or so, but with the oddities of the current weather patterns I think its worth it.

20180215_093548.jpg

The pattern we are currently having is similar to that of 2011, which was the beginning of an extreme two year drought.

20180215_095600.jpg

Since I don't want to gamble too much, I decided to plant some short season crops.

20180215_101430.jpg

My first plantings of spinach, radishes, arugula and swiss chard are complete. If the weather doesn't get too funky, harvest will start in about 30 days or so.

20180215_144936.jpg

Sort:  

Peculiar weather. I can't imagine a winter without snow, though I do remember a very brown winter season many, many moons ago but the snow finally arrived in January. Great decisions to try some 30 day crops though. We look forward to seeing how this experiment pans out for you. -Aimee

Whats the worst that could happen, you're out a handfull of seeds if it doesn't work.

Its a $3 bet :)

Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.