Thief in the garden

in #gardening6 years ago

When I walked outside this morning, I was greeted with a horrendous sight. The garden has been breached. What are we to do?

tomato thief-2323.jpg

All kidding aside. This happens in the garden and seems to happen a lot in my garden. I plan for this by planting a few extra tomato plants. I don't mind sharing the bounty with the critters we share land with. There is more than enough to go around. Not sure why they picked a green one instead of a riper one. More power to them. They probably have been eating green tomatoes from the yard for years and have developed a taste for the green.

I thought this might not happen as much with the garden in the front, since the garden in back is much more wild. If it gets bad, we just pick tomatoes a little earlier than normal. A few years ago, during a severe drought, the garden was pillaged more than normal. We just gave the garden to the animals that year. The garden was in bad shape anyways, something should take advantage of it.

I am fine with the occasional theft.......as long as they don't touch my pepper plants. Which luckily, they never seem to touch. Hot or sweet.

Sort:  

Thief is something that happens a lot in my garden to. You can only control so much because when you are not there they come in or when you are asleep. Admire what you do and I followed you. You will like my amazing steemit blog where I ask life biggest questions in different scenarios . Follow my blog for more interesting post.

I have thought about building a cage around four or eight tomato plants and have the rest unprotected, but just haven't got around to it. I do have cages for my carrots and lettuces and kale. Those would all be gone if I didn't.

Congratulations @turtlesmusic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!