Urban Gardening

in #gardening7 years ago

Growing your own veg in the city doesn't have to be a headache or a chore. Having your own fresh produce right outside your window is a blessing.
It is only Spring here in New Brunswick but I have been enjoying fresh Kale and Herbs while watching my other crops coming up.
The house we rent has almost no yard. I squeezed in some veggies between our house and the neighbor's yard which is just a couple feet wide and tucked some Brussel Sprouts and Cucumbers by our front door.
Just throw a handful of non-burning natural fertilizer in the hole you plant your veggies in and water them if there is no rain. Hey, if some don't work out just enjoy whatever comes up. Happy harversting!
Kale and Cabbage at the side of our house.
IMAG0703.jpg
Brussel Sprouts coming up.
IMAG0702.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome! Welcome to Steemit. I just joined a few days ago and it's cool to see another person wanting to plant in the city.

Thank you.
I've been growing my own veg since I was a kid. Some years I have had amazing bounties and other years it's just been OK.
First time I grew cucumbers I had to build a 10 foot cage around them because they were out of control. For the next few years my cucs always suffered from one malady or another but I'm hoping for a bounty this year.
I also pick a lot of wild produce in the woods etc.
I will post about that some time.