Beet It, Beet It! The Flavor That Can't be Beet!

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_20170624_114641671.jpg

WE LOVE BEETS!

Ryan and I are in love with beets! It wasn't always that way! Like some of you, we used to think they tasted like dirt... But then, we grew some for the Farm To Table Restaurant at the Garden we Managed and they couldn't use them all and sent the extras home with us!

IMG_20170623_220454351.jpg

We don't waste anything on our homestead especially food and we are always looking for freebies so... We roasted them to bring out their natural sweetness and boy were we surprised!

IMG_20170625_124353166.jpg

Instantly, we fell in love! We eat beets every chance we get now! Our kids even love them and gobble them up! We planted a huge bed of red and yellow beets this spring and are now harvesting like crazy! I think I will try making beet chips in the dehydrator and pickled beets!

Here is my YouTube Vlog of Harvesting my beets and other fun things on our homestead...

Thanks for Reading and Watching!

wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg
********PLEASE FOLLOW, RESTEEM, UPVOTE, and REPLY down below!********

Sort:  

I have only ever juiced beets and they were nasty !!! I have some growing this year so maybe roasting them I will enjoy them. I grew them for my landlord, they are her fave. I will have to give it a try one they are ready.

I love them roasted! Ilove them!

I have to try roasting some-I love the pickled beets and a russian/polish soup called barschsz...its yummy-thanks for the idea

YES! I am from Lithuanian descent so borcht (spelling???) is very yummy too! And Kvass is a fermented beet treat!

I know sweetie-remember its me Renate Buter lol (my Family comes from Poland/Lithuania roots) lol...you told me before and Ryan is from German decent ... gotcha :) ....yall told me on the life stream...-hugs

LOL!!! I didn't even pay attention to who it was! SO SORRY LOVE!!!

oh please lol no sorry girl-you have a gazillion followers-you cant remember at all times :) (but it was funny lol) much love

I didn't even look at the name, lol!

I love beets!! I make an Amish Style Sweet Pickled Beets that I love. And beets are so good for you too!!!

I would LOVE a recipe!

I'll have to write a post about it and share the recipe in the near future.

yes please!!!! I will totally resteem that!

Nice harvest! I'm learning to loveee beets