You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planning To Grow Sweet Potatoes

Thanks for sharing! I'm writing a post for tomorrow that features sweet potatoes along with 10 other vegetables that can be grown as perennial greens. The leaves of a lot of varieties of sweet potatoes can be harvested and eaten as a cooked green.

In my area (zone 8) there are sweet potatoes that will overwinter and come back each year. I'm planning on growing some as a perennial root/greens crop.

Sort:  

I am in Wales in the UK. My climate can't be too far off yours in Washington. What is the variety of the overwintering sweet potatoes? I would love to try those in the UK.



Thanks for the resteem. Hope my post helps. Up here in NE Oklahoma sweet potatoes often overwinter, but you can't count on it after a bad winter. Also, I think there are less problems with root rot after starting with a new slip in the spring. Look forward to seeing your article.