You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE HARD ROCK SOLUTION

in #gardening6 years ago

Told ya so!

I like the plywood idea. It sure doesn't take long around here to draw a crowd of critters!

Do you have chickens? I've been debating on whether or not I should get some (again). Used to have a dozen buff orpingtons and then the raccoons and foxes whittled them down to extinct.

Sort:  

Not out on the land we bought yet, but once there, I may try quail. They have eggs that are smaller, but I understand that they are a little more wary than chickens, and they are hard on ticks.

They are also supposed to be quiet (which helps with foxes) and low profile for SHTF conditions.

You need to shoot some raccoons and foxes!

>:(

I can't even raise turnips without something trying to eat them!

Above or below the ground? I have a friend who buried wire under his root crops to keep out moles.

Above ground thief, cage them. I use a Gamo pellet rifle for pests, because right now I am in the burbs.

:'(

We were using raised beds because the ground is nuke proof with clay and rocks. I learned from that experience and installed a six foot wire fence with an 18 inch outlier to keep critters out. It takes more preparation than I had thought when living in the woods. We're good to go now. Holding up on the chickens until later next spring. WAY too many things on my plate right now!

I know about full plates, ROFLOL! Just limped my Sister's car here and rebuilt the shift lever, handle. She is all better now!

Time to get back to work....

:'(

IT NEVER QUITS! I was out yesterday PM taking a load of limbs in my garden cart to a burn pile and happened to notice a wet spot near a fence post. Checked it out and I have a copper water pipe coming up out of a PVC pipe (for its protection), braced against the post. Water is also oozing up inside the PVC pipe, meaning that the copper has a break in it. It's on the main line for the irrigation and critter-watering systems, so a break takes them all out of action, so I can't ignore it.

That means digging up the whole shebang and replacing a complicated in-line joint...somewhere...below a foot of hard clay. Like I didn't have anything else to do. With a hurricane staring at us, I just don't have it in me to take that on right now.

Any chance it is condensation? Hot, humid air on a cool copper pipe will do the same thing. If the copper feels cool, I would wait and see, assuming the critters still have water.

If it goes away when it cools down, I would forget about it.

:(