You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardenjournal: autumn harvest, winter crops and my little yam family

in #gardenjournal11 months ago

5 year project with the Dioscorea elephantipes! Wow I do good to keep anything alive for one growing season lol We love pear tomatoes and had lots last summer. We save seeds from almost everything and just give it a go. Fun if a bit hit or miss. Our garden is just getting going. We moved everything outside last week. We are starting to eat radishes that we started outside a few weeks ago. Just warming up here. We grow everything in relatively shallow raised beds (almost everything) so haven't gotten into tubers. But we love sweet potatoes. Maybe we should experiment some. When I hear something grows easily and agressively, my ears perk up haha Something I could grow successfully 🙂

Sort:  

I'm getting better at keeping plants alive for many years 😅
One thing I have noticed is that many Northern Hemisphere areas have about 2 months of suitable growing conditions and sweet potatoes require 5 so I'm not sure whether they will produce much for you

So I read up on sweet potatoes. My growing season is a bit short but people have success starting them in a greenhouse and moving them out when the soil warms up. I don't have a greenhouse but do start most of my plants inside my garage with grow lights. Could work 🤔

Give it a try!