You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 6 - October 2018 (Join Or Resteem And Win)

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago

I should keep a garden journal, this is a really great idea! I'm afraid at the moment, I should be preparing the garden for winter... but with the good weather, I've been procrastinating, plus there are huge fat spiders out there!

I Was told that I should be planting bulbs now... that will be this week's task. After all, it is school holidays, and I can enlist the extra child labour!

Sort:  

Hahaha. Is it a school holiday? I think here in Belgium it won't be for another two weeks. You'd think I would know, but that's what you get when you are a teacher that has been unemployed for two years, lol. I don't even remember the holidays :0)
It's indeed about time to plant the bulbs, unless you have bulbs that can't survive the frost. You aren't going to plant tulips, are you? I guess you probably are, lol. Everyone over there plants them.

Make sure you let those kids of yours work for their food and bed. I'm all for child labour. It's like the one reason I regret I don't have any kids ;0) Let them kill the spiders first, then send them here, I have quite a lot too, and I'm afraid to go near them.

We spent the day cleaning up the garden. I'd rather do it now, while it is still enjoyable outside, than wait until it is cold and raining. There is still a lot that has to be done, though. It is nowhere near ready for winter...

How did I not know you were a teacher?! What age group? subjects?

Lol! Establishing a pecking order?

Name? Rank? Service time? Number of students graduated? Number of students thrown out the window?

hahaha you are a real shite disturber, aren't you?!

LOVE it!

I never threw one out of the window, but it has been close a couple of times, lol

Ha ha! I would sympathise with you if it did happen!

Thanks. I would sympathise with myself too ;0)

According to my diploma, I can teach Dutch, English and ethics in the first 4 years of high school (12 to 16/17 year olds). But I've also been teaching a course that combines Dutch, geography, history, math and ethics. That was a hard nut to crack, since I suck at math, and know very little about history and geography. I had to spend hours teaching myself first, before I could discuss it with my students, lol.

I love teaching, but I'm too much of a perfectionist: i worked like 60 hours a week preparing my lessons, wfiting my own courses from scratch etc. And then there is all the extra paperwork you have to do. And I've always had jobs in schools where students are mainly learning a profession, so they don't care about the subjects that have nothing to do with the profession they're studying. Definitely not the most appreciative public to have in your classroom, lol.
It was often more than I could handle, and two years ago, I quit my last job because I wqs suffering from a burnout.
I have been a happy unemployed teacher ever since :0)

But I do love it, and there is no other job I can think of that I would want to do.
The biggest problem is that I think our educational system is set up all wrong. The wrong people are in charge, the wrong people with the wrong ideas are teaching those kids the wrong things. So I have difficulties fitting in, I simply can't ignore all the mistakes that are being made by the system, but there is nothing I can do about it. I have to play along and keep my ideas to myself, because if there's one thing educators suck at, it is learning. Ironic, isn't it? :0s

I totally could have written this! All of it ... Love the job, the students, but not the 60 hour work week, all night marking, learning myself before teaching it ...

I have been a happy unemployed teacher ever since :0)

Ditto!

Lol. Only teachers know what it's like to be a teacher. Everyone else underestimates it. They're always nagging about the '24 hour work week' and all the holidays we have. Lol, that's how it looks from the outside. But I don't have to tell you, of course.

One thing i never did was give a student a RATM -CD ;0)

So true!

Hahaha I had no idea how cool that was lol

After all that teaching, there should be a sudden unexplained and instinctive feeling of relief! I think as a parent it is the complete opposite!