Garden Journal November Update - Gardening Indoors...

in #gardenjournal20194 years ago

In November the only gardening going on here is indoor gardening! It is going full force and supplying us with daily salads, pesto pickings, other veggies and fresh herbs. Also with our new ceramic halide grow lights we have lots of light to keep away the S.A.D. syndrome on our long winters with short days!

You'll notice a pink color of light in some of the pictures, this is from the LED grow light we bought last year. It throws off a weird light which we are not to happy with but it was fine for growing our lettuce, greens and herbs.

Indoor Garden Supply Fresh Salad Pickings

looking through lettuce plants onto other veggie and herb plants in pink light.JPG

Indoor Garden Supplying Fresh Pesto Pickings

basil stevia green onions under lights.JPG

We invested in some new ceramic halide lights this year (we need lights in the sunroom during the winter for the sun doesn't come over the tree line at that time of year.) They throw off a terrific amount of light with lower wattage and we are happy with the growth we age getting on our plants.

We have benches set up against the south wall of the sunroom for 8 ft. which are 4 ft wide to grow our veggies and herbs on. Let's have a look.

Overview of the Veggies and Herbs Growing on Benches in Sunroom Looking from West Side

overview of plants under lights starting with basil side.JPG

Overview of Plants Growing on Benches in Sunroom Looking From East Side

looking over veggies and herbs under pink light from east view point.JPG

Some Oxalis, Geraniums Along With Aloe Vera, Lemon Grass, Lemon Verbena and Lettuce in East Corner

looking a plants by door oxalis aloe vera lemongrass lettuce.JPG

In the remaining space along the south wall we have set up an area for growing the cannabis plants (it is legal to grow cannabis here in Canada.) After having a bit of a disaster trying to grow the plants outside with mold, we have decided to do all of our growing, year long, in the more controlled environment of the sunroom. We have set up a tent frame to enable us to darken them off and set down a sheet of styrafoam and plywood to insulate the floor.

JJ Lounging Under Grow Lights By Peppers and Cannabis Plant

JJ lying under pots of peppers by cannabis.JPG

Our dog and cat love the sunroom with the grow lights (as you can see with the picture of JJ lounging under the lights) - they have their outdoors indoors!

JJ even has his own catmint plant growing in the pot with our lemon eucalyptus. It was a volunteer from the summer but we left it growing for JJ loves it!

JJ by His Catmint Plant

JJ by catmint plant.JPG

Bruno Looking Over the Lettuce Plants

side view Bruno looking at plants in pink light.JPG

On the north wall we have a light stand that I usually use to start my seedlings under but right now I have some mint plants (chocolate mint and strawberry mint), green onions, rhubarb chard with little Johnny-jump-up plants mixed in and another smaller Aloe Vera and some lettuce plants that I took out of the garden late in the season. They didn't really produce - just went to seed. I also have a banana plant mixed in with a taro plant growing along that wall by the entrance into the living room.

Light Stand With More Greens and Herbs

end view of light stand.JPG

Potted Banana and Taro Plant

Bananna and Taro plant.JPG

This is my November issue @simplymike 's SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge. I hope you enjoyed it!
If you would like to share your garden, you can join in here

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain



MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Why aren't you happy about the pink light? My reading has indicated plants like different spectrums at different phases of growing, so I'd guess the red fits in there somewhere...

Major sunroom envy here....

I grow catmint in the old West Herb garden, and catnip volunteers in many gardens in the yard. If I had catmint inside, my old cat might look at it and rub on it now and again. But if I had catnip, she'd destroy it in a second!

The pink light was a full spectrum LED grow light and things grew fine under them but because it turned everything a weird color it was hard to tell what was really going on with the plants by just looking at them. I will do visual walk throughs daily but sometimes I don't have the time to really stop and examine everything and if I can't see the true color of the plants or soil I might miss out on things going on.

I always dreamed of having an attached greenhouse. This came about when one of our large south facing windows got a crack. We had to replace it so we thought we would just do away with it and have that as the opening to a sun room. With much research we came up with a system that we can grow in year round with only blowing in the heat we were already using to heat the house. It worked so well we also took out the other matching window on the south side and opened as much of that south wall as we could. It really brightened the place up and I can say that it has saved us from experiencing S.A.D. syndrome during are long winters. It wasn't cheap but we used the inheritance money from my father.

The catnip doesn't survive as well as the cat mint in my garden or I would grow it. This one was just a volunteer that came up in the pot and we let it grow for JJ.

OMGosh! I just got my seeds sowed for my winter indoor garden! I look forward to it every year!

A lot of these plants I dug out of my garden. They were the smaller plants that had been growing slowly in the shade so to get a jump start I dug them out and bought them in and they grew marvelously once they had more heat and better light. There were a few plants that i tried to salvage quite late in the year and I think they might have been too stressed for they went to seed.

I need to start some seeds to have replacements when these get past their prime!
Happy growing in your indoor garden!

Oh man... I'm jealous! At the moment, our gardening plans are completely in stasis with the Winter. Your indoor plants and gardens look awesome! I do have plans to start some indoor pots... but my wife thinks we don't have room. I think we can make space... it will be nice to have some greenery indoors!

I'm sure you can find some space for it is lovely to have some fresh greens! This indoor garden has really made a difference for us and how we mange to get through the long cold winters here!

I love this beautiful garden, lovely colors and pets! Aaawww😊💞💗💕

Glad you enjoyed it!

Very organized and well grown here my friend. Those LED lights are really a blessing as that are normally low wattage. We also have yellow and white lights here in LED.
A lovely gardening post!
Blessings!

You’ve been visited by @trucklife-family on behalf of Natural Medicine.
oh wow look at all that natural medicine you are growing, everything looks so lush. I swear I feel healthier just looking at it xxx

Did you know that Natural Medicine now has it's own token, rewarding natural healing and health wisdoms? You can check out our front end, naturalmedicine.io If you've been involved in our community over the last year, check your wallets for LOTUS and stake them to start earning curation rewards!


Discord Delegate Here

That's a wonderful garden. Those plants are really well looked after but what caught my eye is Bruno. Our neighbor's dog Bruno looked exactly the same.

That's a nice-looking garden!

Nice job bringing the garden indoors, @porters! Seems you are a veteran of long cold winters. I'm thinking yummy warm pesto on a cold night will seem especially yummy, knowing how much care went into nurturing your basil. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I'm so jealous of your indoor garden. There's nothing going on here at the moment, and I miss it big time.

Thanks for joining again!