🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 9 - January (Join Or Resteem And Win)

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago (edited)

What's going on in your (indoor) garden, on your balcony, in your homestead or on your farm this month? Let us take a peek and maybe you'll win one of the prizes

gardening journal.jpg
Source

January

Time is flying so fast. I have a million other things I need to discuss on my blog, but I just noticed that today is the last day of January, and I didn't get a 'SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge' out.

I can't let that happen, so even though I'm still not completely healthy again and there are other things I should be doing first, here it is:
The first SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge of 2019.

I hope you didn't think I was going to give up? As long as there are enthusiastic gardeners out there who are willing to share their gardening adventures with us, I see no reason to put an end to this fun experience.

This is edition number 9 already.

You can find more information about the goal of this challenge
in the original post



You can use the links below to check out the previous editions:

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal April

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Early June

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge July

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge August

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge September

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge October

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge November

🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge December



divider.jpg

A Shoutout To Our Previous Contributors.

We've had different gardeners joining this challenge in every edition. The participants' base follows the seasons in the different parts of the world. Last edition, we could enjoy the garden updates of

@nat-expressions, @porters, @gardeningchef, @celinavisaez, @fotostef, @frejafri , @sayee, @jamethiel, @cloudblade and @steemflow .

I’d like to thank them all for entering this challenge, and I'd like to invite them to post a new update.

This challenge is open for everyone who is growing plants or crops - indoors or outdoors.

If you haven’t joined before, feel free to start now. The more the merrier! There are plenty of people who are enjoying to see what's going on in other people's garden, farm or balcony.



divider.jpg

The Challenge

The assignment is the same as always, although you need to use a different tag for your posts.

gardeningchallengerules.png
Image Source, edited with The Logo Creator 7
Click Image To Enlarge



Please also include a link back to this challenge somewhere in your post.


You can include whatever you want in your post, but please remember that the pictures should be the most important aspect of your post.

filmstrip-2208127_1280.jpg

Image Source


Show us how your plants, herbs, flowers, succulents or vegetables are doing. Share what you’ve been doing in your garden, on your farm or on your balcony. Don't forget to let us know if you are dealing with things like fungus, caterpillars, aphids, and - even more important - hów you’re dealing with those.

In short, tell us the story of your garden.


divider.jpg

🏆 The Rewards

As always, all entry posts will receive a 100% upvote from my personal account. Unbelievable, but true: the price of Steem is still as low as last month, so the upvote will not be of more value than before. But don't forget: when the price of Steem will go up, so will the value of that upvote.

As an extra reward, I'll be setting up a @steem-bounty in the comments section. Everyone who posts a comment that includes a link to a valid entry will get a share of that bounty.

steembounty-small.png
Source


divider.jpg

🏆 The Winners

Recently, we're earning SBD again, but for now my supply is too small to pay out the prizes in SBD. Instead, the prizes will be paid out in Steem.

I’ll reward the top 2 posts with a 6 Steem prize.

I’ll also reward 2 randomly chosen resteemers with an @incinboost share.

If you haven't heard of @incinboost yet, you can read this post.
Basically, you can compare the system with SteemBasicIncome. The big difference is that you get back more for what you put in. In short: it's more profitable and shares are processed faster.



Prizes will be given out once I get the winners post up, which will be after this post has reached payout. Make sure you submit your entry before that time.

divider.jpg

Grab That Camera

Are you still reading? What are you waiting for? Grab that camera and go make some awesome pics of your (indoor) garden, your balcony or wherever you are growing your plants, herbs or crops.

Show us the beautiful greenery we, people in the northern hemisphere, are missing so much during winter.

photographer-868106_1920.jpg
Source


I'll can't wait to see your updates!



logo.jpg

divider.jpg


IMPORTANT! Please Read HERE

steemitbloggers needs your vote.jpg



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


All Images are sourced in the post. The ones that are not sourced are created with The Logo Creator Software

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


JOIN THE DISCORD


Sort:  

I couldn't resist writing one even though I don't have much of a garden. Good work as always @simplymike: https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@abitcoinskeptic/garden-journal-january-2019

Thanks for joining, @abitcoinskeptic. Hope those peppers will start to grow soon :0)

Hey , so glad you had the January Garden Journal Challenge! I do so love to see all the garden around the world.
Here's mine in cold and snowy Saskatchewan, Canada https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/g8xh0kq2

Good looking indoor garden, @porters!

@simplymike has set 8.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Thanks for joining the challenge. It's indeed a beautiful orchid you have there...

Greetings from Greece!

Farm update, January 2019.

Thanks for the amazing pictures again, @fotostef :0)

Hello @simplymike, here's...
My Community Garden Journal for Challenge 9
"Purple Yellow-Centred Daisies? or Aster?"

https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@alphaccino.art/my-community-garden-journal-for-challenge-9

Welcome to the challenge and thanks for joining. I'm so jealous you have those beautiful flowers... I'll have to wait a couple more months to see something else than my garlic that is growing :0)

Thank you @simplymike for the warm welcome but all thanks really go to you for running the challenge, it's a great idea and a really lovely way to connect with other passionate gardeners. I look forward to contributing further to the challenge throughout the year.

Hi @simplymike glad to have found your post. I decided I join in the challenge please see it on this link:
https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@allyson19/my-entry-to-steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-9-january-by-simplymike

Thanks for joining. It's mid-winter here, and nothing is growing, except for some onion and garlic (and mustard leaves). I'm so jealous you are able to grow things all year long!!!

Cool idea to use the roof to make sure the plants will get as much light as they can. Unfortunatey, I don't have an easy way to get up on the roof...

Can to planted in a potted
then Placed in the garage door
We here
Many people plant potted at the door
That way, others can’t park the car at the door because he’s car must placement for Lateral
But your car can enter , because it goes straight enter your garage

Hi White List Author!

Thanks for being part of our contest community.

Here is a 100% upvote from @contestkings

Official Discord Server: https://discordapp.com/invite/SMSNk7w

blue.gif

Once the weather gets better we are going to give our garden another shot. We have new plants out front but I forgot to take the photo of planting

Posted using Partiko iOS

Can't wait to see it.
Nothing is going on here either... soon, I'll start sowing indoors

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by simplymike from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I was thinking to send you a message last week, asking if you are on for this month, but then I thought not to bother you :)
I am glad you are doing it after all, although January is going to be a tricky one, even on the mild Greek climate!

I've got absolutely nothing going on yet, except for watering the plants I'm overwintering indoors. I'll probably start sowing in my propagator some time next week... finally :0)

I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's gardens or gardening projects. :)

Me too :0)

Very nice idea!!! Great!!

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 24.19% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @simplymike!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.750 which ranks you at #1471 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1475).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 148 contributions, your post is ranked at #85.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

now i bhave to prepare my balkony for gardening

This looks like an interesting blog. My garden isn't doing too much right now. I just trimmed back my roses a few days ago and I noticed they have already begun to grow shoots. My daffodils are about 6 inches tall and snowdrops are blooming. My Swiss Chard survived the Winter but the bugs had a good feast on them, so I need to wait for new leaves to grow back before I get any for myself.

I have nothing going on either. I'll probably start sowing indoors some time next week. I'm really looking forward to it :0)

You always make gardening sound so exciting... and I'm sure it is
When I saw my mustard leaves sprout and then become giants on my hydroponic set up... I was so happy...I didn't even have the heart to eat it
Hahaha
But that was the only one that grew beautifully
Every thing else kinda withered and died ... so sad
Maybe it is time to go back to the drawing board :D

So you have an adventure on your hands: finding out why everything else died and then try again after making adjustments. Lol, the road to success is paved with failures. It's from the mistakes that you learn.

Now, mustard leaves are amazingly strong. I had some in the garden last season, and because I let a lot of it make seeds, the seeds have been spread by the wind. And guess what?
In spite of the pretty nasty frost we had last week, there's one thing that is growing like it is mid-summer: mustard leaves. Lol.

I start from zero again multiple times, every season. Every time there are things that don't work, and then I need to figure out why. Sometimes I find out, and I can fix it. But some things will probably stay a mystery forever, I guess.

Last spring, I sprouted a seed from starfruit (Carambola). I had never expected it to survive, as our Belgian climate is too cold for the poor thing. But it kept growing, and during summer I put it in the greenhouse, and it grew to be like 1 meter in height. So beautiful.

Now it is overwintering inside. Everything went well up until a week or two ago. Now, the plant looks sad, and I'm afraid it is dying. I've searched the entire web but I still haven't figured out what could be wrong. Is too much water? Or not enough? Probably not enough light, although it's behind a South-faced window. (That reminds me: iI haven't tried to install some growing lights - maybe that could be the solution. Or maybe not)
Trial and error, that's what makes it so exciting for me. If something finally grows after a couple of failed attempts, it gives me such a great feeling of accomplishment... :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I haven't started planting just yet but your post reminded me that we are february and that I do need to get my things in order if I want to grow from seed.
Now I have heard people starting on full moon or something like that. I wondered if it really did something. Or a certain moon or something. I forget what it was....

Same here. I need to start prepping for sowing too.

Some people told me about the moon-thing. I assume there is something to it, but I've never given it some real thought. It sounded like a hassle to wait for a certain moon before I could start sowing. I like to keep things spontaneous when it comes to my garden :0)

My friend even had an app for it, but I don't remember what it was called.

I did find an article that gives quite a plausible explanation for the idea that the different phases of the moon have a real influence...

https://themicrogardener.com/benefits-of-moon-gardening/

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thanks for sharing. I thought I would give it a try to see if I can see a difference from the times that I do not. I will look into it and let you know :)

It's mid-winter here...but yesterday the snow all melted and today my garden is looking soggy and brown! I'll take that over frozen and white any day!

I don't like soggy and brown either, actually. My gardenhas been like that for the last 4 months or so.
I'm longing for green so badly...

Posted using Partiko Android

To me, anything is better than snow and ice. I see too much of that here in Cleveland.