Gay scene. Remembering Nalle pub

in #gay6 years ago

Whenever I travel and have time I try to see the gay scene of a city. Don't know how about you guys, but I definitely found a lack of sufficient information on this topic.

And I decided why wouldn't I share my experience of visiting gay bars and pubs all over Europe? They are not so many, but they are fun.

It might be helpful and interesting for you, so next time you go for a ​vacation you know where to grab a drink or maybe something juicier​ hehehe🙈

I decided to start with Nalle pub, which was unfortunately closed a few years ago. Even though it is closed it still very special to me. IT WAS FIRST GAY PLACE I VISITED EVER!

Screen Shot 2018-04-14 at 9.21.33 AM.png

Back in 2011, when I first opened the doors of Nalle, this bar looked like this.

DSC09329.JPG

I was very shy and spend all night in the corner.😂 But people and especially bartender were very nice to me. So if Nalle was open I would totally recommend it to everyone.

DSC09340.JPG

DSC09339.JPG

Nalle is translated from Finnish as a teddy bear. And visitors from all over the world were bringing toys to decorate walls of the bar.

DSC09333.JPG

It seems like I was not the only one who liked Nalle.

DSC09335.JPG

Nalle was a nice bar where you could drink coffee reading newspaper in the morning☕️ and grab a beer or two with your pals in the evening.🍺 Sadly it was closed because of high rent and inability of recoupment.

I don't know if there any other place of this format in Helsinki. I think we should ask @meandyou Definitely, there is a club called DTM or "Don't tell Mama". Crazy names is another thing I really love about gay places. But one place at a time, I will tell about it in my next post.

Sort:  

I believe there are few gay bars in Helsinki actually. Here is a list of some of them:
You mentioned the most popular DTM already and then there is one called Hercules in the city centre also, but mostly men go there. It's the biggest gay club in the North and they use their own disco money which is kinda cool i think!

There is a beautiful park called Bear park in Kallio (an area near the Helsinki city center). One of the most popular gay events -DBR drag bear race is held, during the awesome Helsinki Pride (I warmly recommend you to take part in that event). In the park there are two gay cafes Bear park cafe, and Bear park Kulma, which are open for all kinds of people.

If you are into arts, you should visit Cavalier. It's a small place where they have art exhibiotions and shows as well as music events and gay parties called "Otso party".

The newest gay bar in Helsinki, BLVD Room, is specialized in wines. I haven't been there but I've heard they have some fine wines and the atmosphere is cozy, so check the place if you are interested in wines.

All in all Helsinki and most of Finland is a gay friendly and tolerant place, so the bars and cafes are open for all kinds of people no matter if you r lgbt+, straight, black or white, short or tall.. So basically feel free to go anywhere and if you aren't treated nicely it's probably not because of your race or sexual orientation etc., but just poor service or typical Finnish sulkyness. Altough in general we are nice, I promise!

Hercules I know!! jajaja💃💃💃

Well, unfortunately that #steemit-austria tag got obsolete.

Anyway, it's not the first time seeing lgbt people leaving their familiar surroundings for the first visit of a gay bar. I'm not sure whether this is a special kind of breakout or to have a secure feeling in visitting a gay bar in a different city is like minimizing the impact on the environment one is usually stuck in.

well in my case it was simple. there was no gay bar in the city where I lived.

no more #steemit-austria in every post🙈

hahahhahaha @smartcoins will solve that problem soon :P

Heyja! You've got an upvote from @PRP-LGBT, the Curation & Magazine Account for Content like yours! But please credit your gifs next time. :)

thank you :) and I will!

There are not gay bars in most countries

you are right. that is the reason why I visited my first gay bar in Helsinki