Gay, how little she knows/understand

in #gay7 years ago

Gretha Wiid’s claim that homosexuality is a developmental aberration caused by an unloving father, which can be cured if caught in time, has gone viral.

“Some say that gay people are born gay. That’s something I disagree with. I believe with my whole heart that God made men and women to love each other…”

Wiid goes on to outline the bizarre theory that homosexuality comes about because young boys are not loved by their fathers or are beaten and treated badly and thus develop feelings of hurt and pain towards other men.

“They will therefore not want to be like men who prove their masculinity through muscles and strength. These boys also withdraw from the group (and don’t want to be part of the boys’ group at school). Many of these boys feel that they are different and believe at the end of the day that they are gay.”

Wiid explains further: “I believe with my whole heart that such boys could one day be wonderful husbands to their wives, but they did not speak to someone about these things in time – before it is too late.”

She also writes that some boys are teased by other children “because they play the piano or chess and don’t like things like rugby. They begin to call these boy moffies (faggots) from an early age…”

It is not clear what qualifications Wiid has to be able to make these assertions or to give advice and counselling to people.

The book excerpt was met with disbelief and anger from members of the LGBTQ community. Activist Christina Engela commented: “Gretha Wiid has obviously gone beyond the effort of NOT researching sexual orientation or gender identity issues to simply spout her own bigoted, ignorant and biased views on LGBT people.”

Sort:  

Lol people like this baffle me. I mean to each his own, if that what she wants to believe then that's cool I guess but don't go telling others that's how sexuality works!

I'm trying to start a little lgbtq community here, you can see the post I've written and check out @sykochica as she's written some good content on this as well. Hope to see ya there :)
https://steemit.com/lgbtq/@chrissymchavez/where-s-all-the-gay-people-and-brief-review-of-nancy-podcast

Thanks for the feedback, will definitely see more of me. Where are you from, I'm from South Africa

I'm from South Texas! I've never been to South Africa, I want to go to Cape Town!

Cape town is lovely and geared for tourism. However this is only one city in a country full of nature, animals, local African tribes, deserts, tropical coast lines. We have a gay friendly constitution and the only country in africa where gay marriage is legal (to my knowledge). My husband and me are staying on the subtropical side in the province of Kwazulu Natal. We life in a small village. with forest all around. South Africa as the largest and most modern economy in Africa. I QUESS what I want to say is: if you ever visit South africa, dont limit yourself to Cape Town even though it is lovely.

Awesome! Yeah I guess Cape Town is just the one I see most of, where would you recommend I visit? (I wish I could visit soon :( but for future reference)