Drum Healing and Mental Health pt2

in #gems2 years ago (edited)


Greetings everyone in the Hive Blockchain Universal Community, and to all who reads this blog. I've been pretty active in my immediate community lately, and I'd like to share some of the projects I have co-created, building a rhythmic foundation for what's to come.
continuing from my last blog. This is Part 1. Drum Healing and Mental Health

jeff park.png

For starters, let's return to General Jeff Park, where we're celebrating with Sorsornet and Ku Ku. When you say Sorsornet or Sornet you think of Mamady Keita one of the greatest djembe player and teachers of West African music and culture of all time. I have never seen Mamady Keita perform but I have watch many of his videos learning the language as he drum and teach. Sorsornet is of the Baga culture in west Africa on the Guinea Atlantic coastline. The song is performed in the moonlight and following a harvest, the daughters are singing to their mothers honoring them, the dance movement are of women harvesting in the field.
In this video Makeda Kumasi and Ase Ashe Drummers from the Heart performs Sorsornet and dancers, dance to interpret the rhythm, Makeda Free Style over Ku Ku

4 makeda.jpg

Video
It is always wonderful and excitement that comes to me when I have a performance with Makeda, you embodies excellence and perseverance. I observed this in your dance class, but in this event there's a little twist to it, she is doing some spoken word, with Ase Ashe Drummers from the Heart, this is a rarity. Thanks Makeda, I appreciate all that you do.


Before the event in General Jeff Park, I walked in and observed some men discussing some serious matters of life, situations, and how we get in over our heads and getting out. I told them, that I was drumming in the park in 30 minutes, and I wondered if I could film the discussion, they all agreed so here it is, it's in five parts.

ray 2.png

General Jeff Park 1

General Jeff Community Drum Circle 2.png

General Jeff Park 2

General Jeff Community Drum Circle 3.png

General Jeff Park 3

General Jeff Community Drum Circle 4.png

General Jeff 4

General Jeff Community Drum Circle 5.png

General Jeff 5
I really enjoyed the conversation with men that has wisdom from their life experience about situations that arise. I'm hoping that this five-part conversation with men in General Jeff Park to be of service to someone who is listening and hear something to spark that frequency of new patterns of thinking.


4 .gif

Here is some behind the scenes footage and history of Barbara Morrison.
behind the scene video
4 Da Luv of the Drum Afri-Meri-Ka Spoken Word Poetry Hip Hop Edition.
I have completed the editing and got the footage from The Barbara Morrison Center you will see multiple camera angles and sound, throughout the series for a complete show. I will be presenting this in three parts, so stay tuned.
I like to send love and respect to the family of Barbara Morrison, she is cherished and will be missed. This is our second 4 Da Luv of the Drum event, also on this day is Mother Barbara memorial, her spirit was in her house. I opened the event space with Libations and Sound Bowls. And we were rolling ever since there was some small video and sound problems that we had along the way, but this was a great event. The community really came out in support of the drummers, and by the end of the night, we realize that community was coming together because we had to come together, to pave our new reality in the universe.
Clearing and opening the space, before the event. Raymond Lewis video

Divine Melanin Town 7 .png

Ray.png
Here it is, the moment we all been waiting for, this segment will cover the opening ceremony, libation and Drum Opening of the, 4 Da Luv of Da Drum Afri-Meri-Ka Spoken Word and Poetry Hip Hop edition. 4 Da Luv of Da Drum

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.