My Introduction to Gems Community on Hive

in #gems4 years ago (edited)

0F248A01-4E9D-4846-8CCC-32CC41075110.jpeg



42DF057F-EBC8-4005-8883-3D7AB66ED1FA.png

Hello Gem community! Well really I should start with “hello communities” as this is my first time posting in the new format. I wanted to start my new found journey off by introducing myself as I believe that this is where we should all start. So sit back and prepare for the most invigorating and fantastically mundane ride of your social networking lives.

My Names Stephen...


I am 35ish years of old and live in the north east of the U.K. 🇬🇧. I have 2 fantastic children, Aaron 15 and Kaitlyn 9.
I have been blogging on the blockchain for over 3 years. Starting out on Steemit back in 2017, I had no previous knowledge of crypto currencies nor did I know how to write a blog but with a little help from my friend ( Beatles tune in mind) I soon got to grips with the basics and have been blogging on and off since.

E1F257F7-4C80-40E2-9268-1F01E1B7F3D1.jpeg

Diving in The Steemit Ocean


It was frustrating for me when I first started blogging on Steemit for several reasons which now are clear why.

  • lack of upvotes
  • lack of acknowledgement
  • Lack of appreciation

And it took me a while to realise my flaws.
If I wanted people to notice me then I needed to get to know the people first.
So I cast my rod in the right pools and started reading other people’s content and really engaging with others. This led me to discord and joining smaller communities in order to find my own circles of people.

Surely enough and with little effort from myself, I started seeing engagement back.
But as time went on I learned my biggest lesson of all.

friendship

Suddenly, upvotes where not important to me anymore.


FEED2B20-27AB-4DEF-8AA4-F95988161572.jpeg

Along Came a Whale 🐳


After a year on Steemit I took the plunge and joined Whaleshares.

This is where I really got serious and I believe my talents came to tuition.
I started by getting to know people and unlike Steemit, Whaleshares was easy. Maybe it was the friendliness of the people or the fact we where all starting on the same page but I truly believe that it was easier because of the small amount of members compared to Steemit.

I soon found my niche though and was soon hosting shows on discord and even run one of the biggest contests that the platform has seen. This lead me to start a second account called Jackpot which was solely for hosting contests throughout the platform and even sponsored other contests too.

9276FE39-320E-4D13-9D18-6E1806ABCEEC.png

Unfortunately, due to depleted members and lack of participation, I had find something more worth putting in my time.


CAD92545-FC13-41C1-9955-4E228F3BB056.jpeg


Finding My Hive

So that brings me to here.
New community and new beginnings but most importantly, new friends. I hope that in time I will get to know everyone that has made it this far through my post and if you haven’t well, it really doesn’t matter because you won’t be reading this anyways lol.

So that is a little about me and where I come from. You will surely see me buzzing around like that annoying fly that just keeps landing where you don’t want it too.
((Looks around for a fly swatter))

Thank you for reading

0C60F7EA-3743-4841-A874-D64187DC2161.jpeg

Sort:  

Hey Stephen, welcome to Hive! It's good to see you here :-)

Hey Keith! Yeah it’s a good feeling to be back to the grinding wheel of getting to know people again.

Howdy Keith good to see you here my friend. 😎 Hope your weekend is going swimmingly man and providing photographic opportunities aplenty, have a great one, cross paths soon I am sure...

Nice introduction - welcome.

Thank You @momogrownice to see you here.

Hey @momogrow! great to see you here, friendly faces are always so much more than welcome. I am sure we will cross paths in the very near future my friend. Hope you weekend is going great 😎

I am 35ish years of old

This is code for 57, right? I bloody love this post, the hive news graphic killed it!!! If only... IF ONLY you were quite as good looking as me this would have been the perfect post...

Always fantastic to see you around Stephen ((except when we are at work when I don't even wanna see me let alone anyone else...)) There is always such an element of creativity to your posts it makes me so jealous, envious and vengeful happy. 😁

You are right of-course... The progress has been steady and measured but undeniable. When we look back to our initial posts, they weren't quite as accomplished as we might have hoped. But blogging, much like life, is a journey and if it was one long flat line that never deviated, maybe there we be little to aspire to, to keep us engaged.

friendship

Suddenly, upvotes where not important to me anymore.

Abso-frikkin-positiva-loutely!!!

Many of the friendships made have been priceless, some of them have even transferred to 'so-called' real life. This is the hidden bonus that many just do not see or even comprehend and the exact reason that ENGAGEMENT MATTERS! I would almost go the extreme of designating it the key that unlocks everything else!

So my friend, the journey goes on, step by step, chapter by chapter and comment by comment, ((sadly I only have the capacity to write 3 comments per month... For obvious reasons...)) 😁

By the way I had a private message from @momogrow and @keithboone confirming what I said at the top of this comment, that I am just a little better looking than you... I found that strange as I haven't even posted this comment!!! I guess it must have been on their mind 🤣

Here's to the future my friend. May it be utterly magnificent 😎