A story about my experience boxing with three boxing technique poems attached that i devised.

in #gems4 years ago

images (26).jpeg

Image from google

Hello Dear friends today i share on this hive platform
A story about my experience boxing with three boxing technique poems attached that i devised.

I was a young man training in boxing in my early jr. high school years. After my first fight i quit for good because my trainer nicknamed me Paws (because i was a southpaw (left handed)) and i felt cheated because of it.
I'd been in the ring and it was my first fight, during school hours, and in front of a celebrity referee, so, i bobbed, weaved, and showed my signature entrance so the camera would get a good view because i heard they were also doing ringside research for graphics for the Nintendo game "Mike Tyson's Punch-Out."
I wanted to make the cut. That's also about how long ago this was.
There was no audience and my parents weren't there just cameras, the competition, the coach, and the referee. The fight was during school hours and i had to get my parents permission to leave school that day. Fifteen seconds into the fight or less the referee yelled, "pause" while in my corner and behind me, so, i took my step back, dropped my gloves and turned to go over to my corner to see what i thought my trainer and the referee wanted from me.
_ While I wanted to see why the referee paused the fight; the other boxer dropped me. I don't think the other fighter knew what pause meant. if the ref said "Paws" as my name, it was a distraction and as soon as we started.
I forgot to mention "Paws" was the character in a boxing technique poem i was taught by a great trainer my uncle knew and that maybe why i thought it was a good knick name when my trainer used it as my nickname. I was told by my new york boxing coach to tell my ohio trainer that i knew the technique poem and i showed him how it worked then.
Anyway, i was hit early with a cheap shot and was downed already. i didn't hear the penalty called by my coach and was thinking about the technique poem i was taught and everything I've was told by my boxing uncles.
_ Since the count started and i didn't hear my coach dispute the cheap shot, i stayed down thinking of the boxing poem i was taught to find any mistakes. (the three poems i wrote myself i started writing while on the canvas but didn't finalize till later the next day during school.)
i knew the trainer's technique poem well but i thought that it failed me when the name 'Paws' could double as 'pause' and freeze the fighter.
In my poems the characters name is Joey so if someone yells Joey at least the fighter can think of a bob and weave move instead of freezing because in my poem joey means to bob and weave.
_ someone later bragged about me being knocked out faster than everyone through gossip. I didn't take it to heart because i knew i was shorted before i stayed down. I think i heard someone was betting on me. (My bad!)

images (25).jpeg

_ I have uncles that were rigorously trained at boxing. (one of my uncles was a five time Golden Glove champion in new york city and another uncle held a heavyweight boxing champion in the Army once or twice.)
they told me, "if ever i feel im being cheated on in the ring, i should stay down because boxing is to dangerous a sport to cheat in."

  i felt so cheated my first fight instead of getting up i never trained again but instead i wrote and perfected a poem to prevent that from happening to me again. i actually listened to the count and pretended to be down with an aneurysm so i wouldn't be forced to fight again.

i only got into the fight because i heard the ref was going to be Judge Mills Lane. He was my favorite referee at the time and when i showed up, he showed up. I was ecstatic to see him for the whole month before the fight. I couldn't wait to fight for him. I was severely disappointed when i didn't hear the penalty for the cheap shot.

I'm not going to include the poem i was taught in this post, just the three poems i wrote with a simple explanation

BOXING TECHNIQUE POEMS:

I'm trying to edit this to understand easier but i am not a great editor.

I'm wondering if any Boxer, Trainer, or Writer ever heard of a BOXING TECHNIQUE POEM?

I knew a technique poem long ago when i trained and i tried to write 3 of my very own when i found a fault with the one i knew. The first of the 3 can be altered around each fighter differently so i give a few examples out of an almost infinite number of ways it can be altered.

Warning
Most technique poems are made for training. They're not meant to use in the ring because they strain the fighters attention. While you hit the punching bag these poems, when altered and memorized, may help with routine, attention, rhythms, breathing, footwork, and so on.

WHAT MAKES A BOXING TECHNIQUE POEM ARE THE WORDS INVOLVED. All WORDS incorporate SOUNDS tHAT BOXERS use WHILE THROWING PUNCHES such as THE 'S' SOUND or the word 'AND' and 'Ba'

*Boxing
in my poems i include the 'x' sound which may mimick the boxer's 's' sound. I included the 'x' because it is in the word "boxing." Boxing starts off with the sound 'ba'. Boxers often throw punches and repeat to themselves, "ba, ba, ba," or "s, s, s," or "an, an, an."
The word boxing Includes two sounds 'Box' & 'zING'. Both words can be expressed while throwing a punch without disrupting your breathing as much as other sounds. The word boxing, in these poems, because it is two syllables can mean 'ready' and 'set' or it can be two punches. You chose what it can mean as you set up each poem to your routine.

*Joey
The word 'Joey' in each of these poems means to bob and weave. Since joey is two syllables it Can mean bob twice. Maybe the trainer has a preference left for jo and right for ey or the other way around when needed.

*And
The word and in my poems can either mean punch, or step back and ready yourself again.
Mostly defined by what part of speech it is


Title:
Boxing' Joey "'Boom'-'Box'" Bam

When he wins and when he first gets in the ring he spells his name out in boxing punches and *joeys.
The 'bam' is like 'and' so he raises both gloves up on his signature like he is already,
'tHe-Champ!'.


(Adjustable Poem)
Poem1 "Boxing" Joey "Boom-Box" Bam and,
repeat..

Poem 1 Example 1
Boxing" Joey "Boom-Box" and,
Boxing" Joey "Boom-Box" and,
Boxing" Joey "Boom-Box" Bam!
And (Repeat as needed.)

Poem 1 Example 2
'Boxing' Joey 'Boom-Box' and,
'Boxing' Joey 'boom'-'Box' and-Bam, and,
'Boxing Joey 'boom'-'Box' Bam!
and (REPEATED AS NEEDED)

'Bam' can be any power punch and does not have to be used. 'Boom-Box' can be any two punch combo. Box appears twice and there's room to play with it. The 'and' does not need to be written and can be imagined or mean 'step back', 'ready,' or/and 'punch.' i like using it to mean step back and ready yourself mostly.

Poem 1 Ex 3
Boxing Joey boom-Box and,
Boxing Joey boom-Box and,
Boxing Joey boom-Box Bam, and,
Boxing Joey boom-Box Bam, and-Blam!
And (repeat)

when you know it well enough you can Say it however or write it however and however long you want it. just remember that joey means bob and weave one way or bob both ways if you break it up by syllables. all parts of the name you assign a specific 1 or 2 punch combo to according to the syllables and memorize it.

Poem 1 Ex 4
'Boxing' Joey 'Boom' 'Box' Bam!
'Boxing Jo-ey 'Boom'-'Box', and,
Boxing. JoeY 'Boom'-'Box' and Bam and,
Boxing Joey. boom-Box. Bam and,
Boxing Joey boom-Box Bam! And-Blam, and,
Boxing Jo-ey 'boom-Box' Bam!
And (repeat)

Bam can mean a power punch or k.o. but is not necessary and blam is the same and is used just to spice it up. i would like the and-blam to not be used but it's there if it's needed. The and-blam can to dangerous for the ring.
Mind you, this poem can be altered differently to each fighter so variation is key. You just have to memorize what punch is assigned to each part of the name and when to *Joey. Again, Joey means to bob, dodge, duck, or weave, once or twice.
Also, you can use a dot (period) to separate any word in the poem and that can mean switch from right to left stance or vice versa. Use as many as you can handle.
If the poem gets to easy , change it and make it tougher with adjustments.
That was four examples of my first poem because that poem can be adjusted around each fighter.


Poem2 - "Boxing" Joey "Boom-Box" Bam -

'Boxing' Joey 'Boom-Box' can
bang boxes blue like only a joey 'could.'
Sometimes boxing boxes until they 'BLaM!'
We know how to count the boxes boxed and bLammed by Joey 'Boom-Box' Bam
as he bounces boxes off his hands; but,
How many of the boxes that "Boom-Box" has boxed is Joey going to bLam?
He's going through ALL of the boxes's sides -
and their ends.

poem2 can mean a few things though most of all the little boxer might be k.o.'ng everyone.
The exact staces and punches thrown you'd really have to work on yourself to feel it out. It's a poem you say while you hitting a punching bag. i enjoy how i used the word "boxes's" because it sounds like you can fit a few punches in the routine when that word comes up.


Poem3..- Boxing Sass

"'Boxing' Joey 'Boom-Box"'s 'S''s, 'es' and sass 'and,' "'and'-'and'," "'and'-'and'-'and,'" and "'and'-'BLam!'!" -.

Also used during a punching bag workout, In poem3 i just wanted to see how many times i could say the word "and" and in a brief poem without overdoing it because each and can mean throw a punch. And is a good word to say when throwing punches i guessed because it's easy to catch your breath again.
For the sassy boxer.
Plus, i needed a reason to use the apostrophe a few times.

All three poems can be memorized and repeated to one's self as they train on a punching bag. (It helps with rythm and focus)


It is hard to explain it to a tee.
The main thing is its just something to repeat to yourself while you'rE punching a body bag. It helps if you memorize one of the easier poems 1st. You can start by doing the first poem which is just the name..
-BOXING JOEY BOOM-BOX BAM-
BOXING CAN MEAN READY FIRST THEN IT CAN MEAN TWO JABS. JOEY MEANS BOB AND WEAVE BUT ITS A TWO SYLLABLE WORD. MOST WORDS THAT MEAN BOB AND WEAVE ARE ONE SYLLABLE. BOB, WEAVE, DUCK, DODGE... JOEY IS TWO SYLABLES SO IT MEANS DUCK TWO TIMES.
BOOM BOX Is A TWO PUNCH COMBO AND BAM IS A POWER PUNCH and REPEAT OVER AND OVER AGAIN TO YOUR FAVORITE TUNE.
LITTLE BY LITTLE YOU CAN MAKE IT TOUGHER BY THROWING THE WORD 'AND' in SOMEWHERE AT THE END OR BEFORE the word BAM. 'And' can mean step back or it can be another punch.

images (24).jpeg

Thats THE EASY ONE

Boxing Joey Boombox's
s's
S and sas
and
And and
And and and
And,
And blam

Imagine each 'and' as a punch except the first and second to last. The first and second to last 'and' means step back and get sassy (switch stance left to right once or twice) . this poem Is kind of easy but it is a poem that utilizes the and sound 'an'. Some boxers instead of using the s sound when throwing punches use the an sound
So i wrote a poem that used 'and' over and over.
Only this one is about combos.
And
And and
And and and
And,
And blam
=
Single jab
Double jab
Triple jab
Step back
Ready , power punch
Or u can change it up and make the jab any punch.

Mind you,
Its meant to use on a body bag while trianing to help keep focus and rythm.
If you use it during a fight youre using it at your own risk because you would be thinking about a poem and your mind should be on the fight.

Stick with one poem or use all 3 in a row.
Mind you, the first poem easily changes so you can make it as long as you want and memorize it or you can make it short and repeat it. so there are an unlimited amount of ways to set it up
It's just a workout.

All image from Google