Smoke Signs

in #gems4 years ago

Image 1

As we walk the path of life in this world, we will always find many obstacles that will make us stop, and make us think if it is worthwhile to go on, today I want to share this story that teaches us not to lose hope in God and his grace.

The only survivor of the flooding of a boat due to a terrible storm ended up on a completely uninhabited island. The man, in desperation, prayed tirelessly to God for his rescue; every day he looked to the horizon for some sign of a boat but nothing shows up.

Tired, he decided to build a small hut where he could protect himself from the weather and put his few belongings in one place. But one day, while digging in the hard ground in search of food, he was surprised to find that his poor little hut was being consumed by the fire of the flames. The worst was over, for all was lost. The man was devastated and went into a deep depression.

  • "My God, how could you do this to me," he cried bitterly.

The next day, very early in the morning, the man was awakened by the sound of a ship approaching the island. They were coming to rescue him.

  • How did you know I was here," he asked the men who rescued him.

  • "We saw your smoke signals," they answered.

It's very easy to lose hope and get discouraged when things don't go well. However, we should never lose faith in God because He is always watching over everything that happens to us, even when our difficulties plunge us into deep pain and suffering, He will be there to comfort us with His grace and love.

Let us remember next time that when our heart is on fire, it can be a smoke signal for God with his infinite love and grace to come to our aid.
And, for all those negative things we usually say to ourselves, God always had and has comforting and very hopeful words.

We say: "It is impossible"
God says: "The impossible with men is possible with God" (Luke 18:27)

We say: "I'm very tired"
God says: "I will give you rest" (Matthew 11:28-30)

We say, "No one really loves me.
God says: "I love you" (John 3:16; 13:34)

We say: "I can't go on"
God says: "My grace is sufficient" (2 Corinthians 12:9)

We say: I can't do it
God says: "I can do all things in Him who strengthens me" (Philippians 4:13)

We say: "I'm not available"
God says: "I am always available" (2 Corinthians 9:8)

We say: "I can't forgive myself"
God says: "I forgive you" (I John 1:9; Romans 8:1)

We say: "I'm afraid"
God says: "I have not given you a spirit of fear" (2 Timothy 1:7)

We say, "I'm not smart enough."
God says: "I have given you wisdom" ( 1 Corinthians 1:30)

We say, "I'm lonely."
God says: "I will not leave you or forsake you" (Hebrews 13:5)