Childhood!! The Everlasting Memories

in #gems4 years ago

Hello Hivians!!

How are you all today?

Today I'm going to tell you about my childhood. The Golden time of everyone's life is Childhood. None is this world miss childhood and thinks about chilhood in leasure time.

Ohh!! My Childhood. What an amazing time it was! I can remember everything of my childhood. Even I can remember some of the events when I was only 3-4 years old.

I was four years old. That means it was 1987. I can remember I was angry and cried for a tiger replica that was belongs to a plastic animal replica set. I was crying and angry on my uncle (Mother's Brother- Mama) because I believed that he ate my tiger. And he told me so. Funny matter is still sometimes I think that he did it. My mother bought me that from International Export Fair (Now International Trade Fair).

On that year we returned Sylhet as my father get transferred from Dhaka. That was my first train journey what I can remember a little bit. I was very afraid whenever the train was crossing any bridge. Before that we came from Rajshahi to Dhaka on 1985 but I can't remember that journey.

In Sylhet our first house was in Kajal Shah. There was a big pavement in the house. I used to play with balls there. My little brother was an infant then. My other two older brothers stayed on hostel for study in Cadet College and Madrasa. My first school was Radha Rani School. But I went only one day.

After some days we went Old Medical Colony as my father got government quarter from accommodation facility. That was 1988. The best time of my life started there. I then started to go to school. There I got a huge number of friends. We were used to play cricket al together. We often didn't want to do classes for playing but Teachers picked up us to classes. That was the kindergartens time. In class room there were so many toys to play and learn but cricket was not allowed. There are so many small memories but I'm skipping them. On class four we heard one of our teachers marrying. We bought 20 Plastic cars for her to make car rally. Binding all the cars with a rope we made a line and gave her and said teacher this is for your marriage's car rally. She took them but wasn't happy enough. On class four me and other two friends pushed principal's daughter while playing football and we got punished as standing in the holding ears. Next day she pushed me but only get 5 time seating and standing with ears holding as punishment. So we putted all the water on her from water pot and didn't get any punishment because principle had seen every tackle she did on playing football. It was the time when I was in class 3.

When I was in class five. I and my friend Faruk injured ourselves while doing scholarship coaching. Our classes were divided by wooden partition board. We two climbed the board of our class room to go to another empty room. On top Faruk get hit with running fan and catch my hand to stop falling. We two fall from 8 feet high board to the benches. His head and my mouth were bleeding. Punishment was held for 7 days and later teacher forgot that.

Another day we were waiting for our teacher to come in classes. She was late for half an hour. We became very impatient. Because that class was the last class of the school time. There was a round bronze bell in the school to let everyone know that the time up or tiffin time or for the times of other events. I think you all know about the big iron bell. Usually maids were there to ring the bells. But that day we planned to rang the bell to go home early. The bell was heavy. So my friend Shiblu holds that and I did strike the bell like the time over one and ran back to the class. All the classes prepared to go out but couldn’t because teachers didn’t let them out. No sooner our teacher came in our class to investigate. But no one confessed. So whole class suffered punishment detention for one more hour.

One-day Principle teacher's daughter made her nails red with nail Polish. We were newly strong Muslim on class five. We told her (ওই ফুড়ি তোর নামাজ অইতো নায়। নউক পালিশ লাগাইলে নামাজ অয় না।) Result was she rubbed with rubber that is made with two parts. One is white another is grey hard part. She used grey part to remove nail polish and skin behind nails got injured and blood came out.

After class five we changed school cause that school was a Primary school. In the mean time I got my best friend Shiblu. But we got admission in different School and we used to meet each other after school. Even Shiblu often came out of school during tiffin break and didn't go to do the rest of the classes. I was in Sylhet Government Pilot High School from class six to till the end of my school life. But interesting matter was we both got admitted on same school cause before admission on my school I had attained the admission examination on Police Lines School and achieve the first place. I was in morning shift and Shiblu was in day shift in his school. So first six months I used to do classes in both school. Full time in my school and then half time in Police Lines School.

9bc0c8de1c499a7201cbe936b1e1fef9.jpg
Source:

90474937_3204136119597271_7232235257242583040_n.jpg
Source:

One day the School inspector from education board scheduled to visit Police Lines School. There were four ceiling fan in the class room and two was out of order and one ran slowly. Only the fan upon teacher’s head was the good one. So what we decided to teach a lesson to the school authority. We did bend all the fan's blades upward like Shapla ful (Water lily). When the inspector came he was astonished just like someone thrown him from a high-rise building. He asked class teacher about the fans but class teacher was like deaf. Principal became extremely angry but there were no words from his voice. The inspector was just too smart and he said I understand the fans are out of order. Then he told the principal to change the fans within his visiting period. The fans were changed within one hour. This happened in Police Lines High School. Till class five we were not that devilish. But creativity started from class six.

We used to play cricket through the years. Even in rainy season. There was a British made tennis court in the colony which had no nets around because of oldness. That was our batting pitch in rainy season. We used to play football on rainy season in muddy water field. Football playing was not the main issue there. Issue was everyone had to be wet in mud. Drier players were drowned after playing. I and my younger brother were very friendly. We two used to enjoy walking in the rain sometimes with umbrella and sometimes without.

rainy8.jpg
Source:

We used to play cricket I told before. There is a field in medical colony. No other field was as good as it. So we used to call other outside teams to play with us. Most of the time we were the winner but sometimes we were defeated. If someday any team defeated us then next day there must be a rematch until we won.

I, my friend Shiblu and a younger friend Shipon was the talk of the colony till the last day of our staying there. We three were always together. Only sleeping times at night could apart us. There were a lot of coconut trees in the colony. We were the team who was always stealing green coconuts from the trees.

That was the time when cold drinks were only available in glass bottles. Tinned Cans were very rare. One day we three and my younger brother bought four cans of seven up and were drinking and walking. One lady of our neighborhood saw and complained to my mother that we were drinking beer. How come she knew about beer we couldn't found but we show my mother that we drunk soft drinks. However we decide to punish her. So next night we broke all the glasses of her windows by throwing boulders.

When I was in class eight one day Shiblu told me that headmaster of Police Lines High School always touches girls shoulders and back. So we made a banner written on a white paper (স্যার আপনার মেয়ে ছাড়া আর কোনও মেয়ের পিঠে হাত দিবেন না) Sir please don't touch other than your daughters back and shoulders. Next day he beat all the male students of class eight. Because he knew he was in class eight last day. So from that night we threw boulders on his House roof which was made of tin. This revenge continued for 3-4 months some weeks every single day and on other weeks once in two days.

That year we started smoking but not everyday. Each Friday we used to go stadium to smoke in open air where none but we were the only Human existence. Still today we don't smoke regularly as regular smokers. We tried many types of cigarettes. The most charming one was "Gudang Garam Cigarette". It was an Indonesian Cigarette made of clove and other spices.

I told that I was in Government Pilot High School from class six. Our school was more than hundred and fifty years old. There were no security grills on the windows. So it was easy to get out of classes through the windows if the class wasn't interesting or if we felt not to do any classes. Most of the times in rainy seasons our school area used to drown under water. We used to wear sandals on rainy days. There was some plastic rubber mixed sandals from Bata named Sandak. Those became playing boats for us in school while the whole area was under water. The river Surma was beside our school so there was at least a boat journey in every week in our routine.

902824_597031573642493_1122783778_o.jpg903069_597030416975942_688900627_o.jpg

Source:

I had bicycles from class five. The first one was a blue hero cycle. Still I can remember the exact color. Most of the time I used to do the pedal work and Shiblu and Shipon was pillion. One day we three went cantonment by bicycle. The distance was 18km. That distance made me to learn motorcycle driving. In a month Shiblu first learn motorcycle driving which was only a matter of 30-40 minutes and later he trained me and I also took 30 minutes to learn and run in the main road.

When I was in class nine on that year we were encountered a brawl for the very first time with an outsider team and that was furious but not bloody. The next day after that day we again played a match with neighbor club and won. For the celebration we decide to make Shipon as winning victim. We took of all his clothes and threw him in the deepest part of mud water which was nearly knee-deep. We went home for shower and after 45 minutes Shipon's mother came to the field to find him out and took him home. After one hour we went his house to take him out. Nobody did mind none was angry.

I've already said that I was a student of Sylhet Government Pilot High School. When I was in class seven our English second paper subject teacher was Shil Babu. He used to pull hair in order to punish us. Most of the time he pulled the hears near the ear side and that was so painful. So me and my some classmates planned to teach him a lesson. Shil babu used a bicycle as his transport and he always put his cycle in assistant headmistress's room for safe parking. We three went to assistant headmistress's room with some singara to feed her cause she was really a very good woman to be respected. But that day there were something behind respect. Two of us was talking to her to keep her busy with and one of use went behind her chair to enter the next room behind her and released all the air of Shil babu's bicycle Tires. He did it slowly so that no noise can come. Also the chain was displaced and front Tire was punctured by a big nail. That day Shil babu searches the whole school for the culprits but helplessly he went home alone by foot with his bicycle. After that day he became good man.

I was very enthusiast for fasting in Ramadan and still so I. But Shiblu was the one who always break fast after Dhuhor Salat. One day I and shipon noticed that Shiblu was not fasting. He was in the roof of his building and make mash potato to eat rice. That day we didn't break fast but later I and shipon also break fast by piaju and beguni. Tarabih was also a part of our fun time. We used to pray eight rakah and then we start fruit hunt time like coconut, black palm, Kamranga.

We liked to eat in Chinese restaurants. But that time we couldn't arrange enough money to eat outside. To we make a plan to earn some money. We gathered newspaper from all three houses of use and sold them. That was huge money for that time and it was like 1100tk. We went to Chinese restaurant with my younger brother and took a grate meal for lunch and also bring some parcel for home. That time on 1998-1999 Chinese food was cheap and with quality.

We became very fashion conscious that time. The Idol was Salman Shah for his tremendously brilliant advance fashion sense which is now becoming craze in bollywood also. Also Shahrukh was followed by us but shipon couldn't follow them because he was a madrasa student. So kabuli by Sanjay dutt was in his list.

After SSC I and Shiblu went India for touring. We went Shillong and Kolkata. The road to Shillong was nearve touching as they were narrow, curvy and uprising and left side was the end of hill which was more than 500 feet deep. After coming from India Shiblu climb the Floodlight Tower of Sylhet Stadium which was an unbelievable stunt by him. Later one day we ran from sylhet stadium to Cantonment. But later Shiblu again took an attempt to run till Tamabil zero point but after crossing Horipur a bull heat him on the run and he was injured. It was such an upset but later become so funny for us.

Kite flying was a pure addiction in us. We used to made kites for us instead of buying and flew them. We also played a lot of other games like hadudu, volleyball but one thing I've never learn. And that is swimming.

I had a home tutor and his name was Mokhlesur Rahman. He used to take exam in every Friday. Every exam day he bought a new pen for me as exam gift but here never gave me that pen. Cause I had never got 20/20. That was always 19/20 and he brought back the pen. It was his intention to not to give me the pen and he always provide 19/20. But when he left my tutorship he gave me a big book as gift. I forgot all the pens pain after getting that book. We used to read Quran to a common hujur. Shiblu and I were always in search of the stick of hujur to break because we were the victim for every morning.

One day we found four cute puppies and we decided to pet them and grew them as furious dog. So we dig a big hole in the field. We kept them in that hole during day time and freed them at night. This way we kept them four months till the rainy days come. Later when they came out they really become ferocious and used to attack anyone the dislike. People complained to our parents and then we send them to a village to a known relative’s house. Still I miss my dogs.

That's all from my childhood. May be I've forgot some but not going to write anymore on this topic. Thank you for reading with patience.

Banner-for-Steemit 1.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @ashikstd on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening