You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deleted

in #geneeverett3 years ago

Downvoted because you downvoted. Look... It's far more important to build trust and a friendly Hive. This sort of reason for downvoting is not friendly and harms all of our prospects here. That's, ultimately, what I save my downvotes for... Unfriendliness.

Sort:  

Do you happen to use your downvotes for posts that were plagiarized, spam and commit phising attacks too? Curious if unfriendliness was your only criteria for proper use of downvotes.

Absolutely it is. I vote my values... and here on Hive... Unfriendliness is something that will harm our reputation as it does nothing to improve the marketability of the Hive Blockchain either. Adding insult to injury... An unfriendly social environment burns out new people. Retention can't happen when even our long time owners are put off.

I won't stand by idle while I see people behaving in unfriendly way's towards others.

In the end... this is a social experience.

And friendliness get's you much farther than being cruel.

I'm all for trying to make the place less hostile than it can be but you're assuming conflict won't be part of the norm in a decentralized ecosystem where globalization meets cross cultural baggage? Tell me what you think about this post

I can respect other people's religious views and get downvoted when I write stuff that ain't aligned with their belief system, even toss a few exchanges while interacting with them, they can be unfriendly or I can be unfriendly but that's all fine and expected in a decentralized ecosystem where people are free to have their own say with whatever they want on the chain, doesn't mean they are free from the consequences of doing the hell they want.

You get what I'm saying? you can enforce your make people more friendly because that's how you envision how this decentralized ecosystem should behave and to some extent I can subscribe to wanting some peace and get along with diversity this place can offer but never think that when you're trying to impose your friendliness policy is an exemption to policing. There are some practices I don't subscribe and will continue to fight against and I don't need to be friendly or be respectful on belief systems that I find horrendous to tolerate and should I be policed to be friendly if I can't stomach some crap?

Tell me, when you want to give me downvotes, what exactly are you trying to accomplish here? are you giving me downvotes because you disagree or are you giving me downvotes because you want to enforce your view point on the matter on how things should work like you envisioned it to be on me?

Your making excuses... and from what I have seen... Your construct is quite off. Decentralization doesn't mean that we default to unfriendly. We need to be better than the social2.0's... Or we are going to quickly be marginalized within the crypto space.

This is about values, common respect, and decency.

Because there is actual monitory value to our social interaction it is important to realize... This super charges the social environment.

The worst thing we can do is operate in a way that's less than civil because it ultimately damages the Social Capital we are surrounding ourselves with.

I hope that you are receptive to what it is that I am saying.

You can consider my downvotes something in kind. Mostly I couldn't stomach the idea of someone being rewarded for being unkind and unfriendly... and attempting to impose themselves upon someone else for the only reason that they did something with their fully functional account that the code allowed. Who's account is it anyways right?

So that's the reason for the downvotes.

And yes...

I save them for the unfriendly things I see happening more and more on this blockchain.

If this continues... We won't have anything to fight about. It will all be gone... It's only a matter of time.

As an owner...

I'm going to do everything I can to bring a new culture to Hive.

A friendly one.

I hope that you are receptive to what it is that I am saying.

I am and thus the comments you've downvoted were upvoted by Gene himself I believe. So you think he was off his rocker or thought I was being offensive? or you just thought I was offensive on his behalf?

You can consider my downvotes something in kind. Mostly I couldn't stomach the idea of someone being rewarded for being unkind and unfriendly... and attempting to impose themselves upon someone else for the only reason that they did something with their fully functional account that the code allowed.

I saw you downvoted @amirl for just having light conversation with me expressing his views and I think we came into mutual agreement without overstepping boundaries there. But you downvoted them because they got rewarded? or because they were interacting or agreeing with me? he was being courteous to me even if we disagreed. He didn't exercise his downvotes or impose further nor do I had any plans to impose mine. Don't be a hypocrite, you're friendliness policy is noble but it's just policing with a virtuous name.

I'm going to do everything I can to bring a new culture to Hive.

Yeah about those method of replies I kinda expected some:

Greetings!
Body of text
Closing
Your name

Format the way you've been courteous about. I see some are more equal to merit your graces to use that format of reply. I do appreciate the latest reply with spaces and sentences in between though.

Do what you gotta do and hope you achieve that friendly hive ecosystem that you want to see, just know I'd still enjoy my freedom to do what I what and feel free to impose your belief systems on me as much as you want, this is everyone's freedom granted.

Loading...

What if my way of being friendly is downvoting?

Loading...

I can attest nathan's sense of humor isn't conventional but I like his way of greetings. Few friends tossing downvotes on each other can be seen as hostile now, maybe you need to rethink your form of greeting before the moral police comes after you.