City Life

in #gentrification6 years ago

I live in Atlanta. There are high rise condominiums being built everywhere. Traffic has become almost as bad as Los Angeles. Coffee seems to be getting more expensive daily. All this and I Love it here. I have lived in Atlanta for 13 years. I watched it grow from Country Cool to Southern Chic. It’s getting so crowded and expensive here. I live in the West End. I am in the midst of a serious gentrification in my neighborhood. Watching “the hood” change is bittersweet. I’ve always found the West End to be delightful in a concrete jungle sort of way. It’s constanty busy and the community is eccentric and a bit rough. There is a huge ethnic community of Muslim business owners, Hebrew Israelite’s and College Kinds attending HBCU. Now a days you see hipster looking white kids hanging out taking pictures near MLK graffiti. It’s America so we should absolutely merge cultures. However I’ve never seen this in this neighborhood that was once 99 percent people of color. West End was so rough other black kids I knew didn’t want to visit me here. Now I have working class white families as neighbors and cool hipsters taking over the blocks.