You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Spatial Data Yield Agates

in #geology6 years ago

Hmmm, I like shiny black rocks more than any other rock/stone. Not a fan of agates but tumbled agates look ok too. :)

Oh the terms... so which color in the images mean it's where the best agates are again? I think this is a very useful post for gem collectors.

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment. Shiny rocks are nice, but colors are so pretty! Agates may be a little ugly before tumbling, but they sure do clean up nicely!

In general, the warmer colors (reds, oranges, yellows) represent the best spots to find agates, while the cooler colors (greens, blues, purples) are less desirable spots. However, in the last two figures of the post, I have already filtered out the less likely locations so any colored unit is a decent location to try looking. I hope people find this useful, it is my goal to make rockhounding more enjoyable for everyone!