Hancock (film): one of my favorite superhero movies

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

I have to admit that I am not a huge fan of superhero movies. The massive budgets and wonderful characters that I have known from my youth are not enough to entice me to go. These films are actually one of the few styles of films that make it over to where I live in Asia and they actually WILL be in English for a weekend or two but i still don't go. I'm just not interested. That being said, i really enjoyed this film despite some problems with the physics.

MPW-33159.jpg

I think part of the reason that I liked this movie was because unless i am mistaken, Hancock is completely made up and is in no way connected to DC or Marvel. We don't know anything about the guy and there is no nerds out there to piss off by doing it wrong. Basically, John Hancock (Will Smith) is an extreme alcoholic who possesses superpowers but for the most part doesn't really give a damn about helping people. He does help from time to time and he normally ends up causing much more damage than he prevents with his intervention.

hancock-movie.jpg

His superpowers are very reminiscent of Superman: He can fly, he has super-strength, he's impervious to all sorts of damage including bullets and knives, basically he is omnipotent.

His life changes one day when on a routine rescue that could have been handled many ways better than he did handle it Hancock meets Ray Embrey (Jason Bateman) who is a public relations expert who wants to help Hancock clean up his image.

maxresdefault.jpg

Embrey succeeds in a few ways, such as getting Hancock to wear a uniform befitting a superhero, how to take of and land without destroying the pavement, and how to be nicer to people. It is quite amusing actually, but not so much in a slapstick way. Maybe it is just me, but I really like how they executed this in the film.

I'm not going to reveal much more but let's just say that the story doesn't take the usual pathway to conclusion. Unless someone spoils it for you, you are not going to know the twist that takes place in this movie. It isn't the usual "Kryptonite hurts Superman" stuff.

I might be over-rating this film based on my own personal bias, but that is the only way that I know how to do these things. Feel free to disagree. I have watched this movie dozens of times and will likely do so again, because it is great. It is an inventive story and the special effects are done well. They do lose some points from elements of the film that I didn't like and i will explain those next.

8 / 10

The rating isn't centered because once you use the "#" to increase font size the < /center> does not take the editor out of centering everything. If someone knows how to sort this out that would be great.

Moving on, there are going to be mild spoilers ahead, so if you haven't seen the movie but would like to, turn back now.

50ef2f24f9668ef79a3ca631f1e5ef869e8106d2r1-1200-1197v2_hq.jpg

problems I had with the film

  • Everyone knows that Hancock is impervious to bullets, but yet they still shoot at him.
  • Hancock cannot be harmed by bullets but the suit that is made for him does not share this characteristic. Yet his outfit is always perfect even after being shot hundreds of times
  • The scene where he throws that bratty French kid up in the sky, when the boy comes back down Hancock catches him without leaving the ground. This would split the boy in half. Just because you catch someone who is falling at terminal velocity doesn't mean they won't get hurt (or splatter)
  • When Hancock goes to prison the inmates are prepared to give him the usual new-guy-in-prison beatdown. They know who Hancock is and that he can lift trains in air, yet they still try this and appear to be confident in their ability to win. It doesn't make sense but i guess it was for comic relief.
  • Mary seems to know an awful lot about her and Hancock's past, despite the fact that she is meant to be afflicted with amnesia as well

There are many others, I just don't want this thing to end up too long.

Sort:  

Hankock was definately one of my favorites too (even with all the problems).

What I like most about it... All of us have a superpower, we all have a great wealth of potential within us, yet we often do not let our superpowers shine, and sometimes we destroy ourselves (by drinking, drugs and other bad habits) rather than explore the depths of our potential and allow it to manifest itself in the world. This film is about you, the you that has great power but does not use it. It is a film that reminds you that no matter what you are going through, it is never too late to unleash the power within you for good, both in your life, and in the lives of all you come in contact with.

Yeah I totally agree with you, there were a number of things wrong with the movie especially in the physics aspect. Thus its not one of my best movies its still a good movie.

hancock is the best illustrated drunken hero in cinema that has not taken sequel what I did not like much was the theme of the super couples and lost their powers to be together I saw it as a cryptonite hironica since your great love is of made your perdition hehehe but it was a good movie thank you for making me remember her

Hi,@gooddream, super story.... thanks for this post

Yeah.. i too liked it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like his drunken landing

I have really never watched that movie in my entire life haha ;). Maybe i'll watch it today :D!

Will Smith saved the movie with his charisma IMO. I didn't really enjoy it much

cool movie :)

Yeah..Hancock man with unusual power, good guy and he is my idol Will Smith.

Posted using Partiko Android

I liked, I think it was a fun movie, but maybe a little forgettable. It did well in regards of boxoffice, so I wonder why they didn't make a sequel. There are some good comic book movies out there that stand out that you are probably ignoring due to some prejudices. Maybe one day you check them out 10 or 15 years after their release the same way you always discover a lot of the movies you end up liking hahaha

I've got a bit of a soft spot for Hancock as well. It is light and fun. While the physics of the whole thing are inconsistent, it is mostly forgivable. I feel like on some level, the movie actually depicts a plausible reality of having powers if someone refuses to rise to the occasion. My big hang up with the film is really Mary and her husband as their whole involvement (I don't want to get into spoiler territory here) seems really forced. I would have very much preferred for her whole plot to be written out of the movie instead of hinging on it.

Saludos .. un héroe fuera de lo común