Henry Cho: An American comedian with an interesting shtick

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago (edited)

I am always on the lookout for new ways to laugh. It get's difficult from time to time to find good comedians because well, it is a difficult game and not just everyone can do it.

twitter_pic_400x400.jpg

Henry is obviously of Asian descent, Korean to be more specific. While this isn't terribly unusual as there are millions of Asian-Americans it is very very rare for them to naturally sound extremely southern. To speak with a thick, southern "twang" is unusual for anyone and even though I lived in the part of that world for a large portion of my life, I never encountered anyone with Asian heritage that sounded like that.

web1_Henry-Cho-1.jpg

There are a lot of comedians that can fake accents of all sorts and I am sure there are plenty of people that can fake a southern drawl but that the thing; Henry isn't faking it, he really sounds that way.

His stand-up comedy is also well-known for being extremely family friendly: That is, he never swears and most of the topics are rated G or PG. As a matter of fact I can't think of any jokes he did that would make you feel uncomfortable if I watched it around my parents. Im not suggesting that swearing a lot is bad for comedians but many times I feel it is unnecessary, just like in real life.

His comedy can be described as situational and like most great stand-up comedians this simply means that he describes things that happened in his own life in a humorous fashion. It is a real talent because I'm sure that there are plenty of humorous things that happened to all of us in our lives, we just can't seem to put it to words, let alone remember it all and do a 1 hour special on a stage in front of hundreds (or thousands) of people.

Henry grew up in Knoxville, Tennessee. Maybe you aren't aware of this, but nearly everyone in Knoxville speaks like Henry does. Henry himself states that his family were the "only Asians in Knoxville." While this is unlikely to be true I can attest to the fact that there are usually VERY FEW Asians outside of major metropolitan areas in America. I suppose it shouldn't be so surprising that someone growing up in an area ends up sounding like the people in that area, all of us have accents based and precisely the same reasoning.

I highly suggest that you seek out more of his stuff because it is good, clean fun.

Here is one more

Sort:  

thanks for sharing that, i had never heard of him. he is pretty good too!

Oh yh, he almost won a million dollars with his gift, he came in 2nd against Darcy

I am always on the lookout for new ways to laugh.

Uhm, laughing is real the best antidote to any kind of unhappiness which I believe happiness is free and can shape our thinking in a more diversify way toward realizing the best in us. Though, I never heard of Henry but it is always a good feeling to follow one's heart. I like a comedian who don't always force himself by making people to laugh but rather speaking and eventually people we have all reason to be amuse.

Hiii... Gooddream

Good Morning.
Have A Great Day.

Getting someone to laugh at your jokes is never an easy thing to do, laughter has a lot of therapeutic effects on an individual these guys deserve to be commended

Hi.
I managed to see a couple of vines by Henry Cho and it's very funny even though sometimes he says things very risque, he's a good funny, friendly and very cheerful comedian.
Greetings from Venezuela

It is a real talent because I'm sure that there are plenty of humorous things that happened to all of us in our lives, we just can't seem to put it to words, let alone remember it all and do a 1 hour special on a stage in front of hundreds (or thousands) of people.
I agree, it takes talent to be able to achieve that, not everyone can translate everyday events into a comedy show. And yes, I think swearing is unnecessary in comedy and in real life.

Heard about this comedian for the first time. I watch local comedian in their night shows. Most of them speak urdu or either Hindi. Foreign comedians. I have never watched them coz none attracted my attention. But henry sounds great. The fact that he is Half Asian makes me lile him even more.

Laughing is remedy to many problems, but to make other laugh is a talent,Comedians are able to do a tough task. and I had heard about Henry and after getting know so much about him through this blog i would definitely look out his stuff.