The Pursuit of Happyness (film): a touching true story

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

This film is intentionally spelled wrong, it is explained why in the movie but I'm not going to ruin that for you. I prefer when Will Smith does non action roles because this is where I feel he truly shines and shows how wonderful an actor he really is.

pursuit-of-happyness-single-dad-will-smith.png

The movie follows the real-life struggles of Chris Gardner (Will Smith) and documents his rather extreme problems he faces at achieving success after a bad investment actually results in him being penniless and homeless for nearly a year. Not only does he have the face the difficulties of losing everything but he also has his young son with him. I was unaware the film was a true story until the very end, and that, in my mind, makes the story even more impactful.

It is a wonderful motivator about how people should never give up, despite the level of hardship they may face and it also shows how horrible people can be towards those who are a bit downtrodden.

The movie also features the now bat-s**t crazy Jaden Smith playing Garnder's son in the movie. Jaden actually does a very good job in this and he would go on later to make one other decent film before descending into celebrity madness at a much younger-than-normal age.

15happ.650.jpg

This movies is a tear-jerker and I believe it to be one of Will's best performances ever. It is also one of Jaden's best, but that isn't saying near as much.

7 / 10

Sort:  

I feel the same as chris after a year of student teacher internships no salary. It was horrible but we all kept on smiling. Something has got to be done about this antique method of certifications. But there is nobody who would listen to the reasons. How do you take care of dependents and not lose your home? That's why not enough teachers can reach the MS Ed unless they are married to a breadwinner. This system is all wrong but it's been wrong for so long nobody will listen to change anything. Geniouses.

Hii...gooddream

Great Post with Great Information

There is no doubt that it was a very good movie, and the best thing is that it was based on real life ..

Ohh Will Smith has totally killed it in this movie he is so good In this. And yes I totally agree that will Smith truly shines brighter when he is not doing the comic-action type movies.

Very touching movie! Really liked the performance of Will Smith, totally nailed it!

@gooddream Great movie for sure. Will Smith's performance is outstanding. This is one of my fav. movie.

Great review sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a pleasant and interesting movie that is good to watch.

It was a pleasant
And interesting movie
That is good to watch.

                 - foxkoit


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

????

it's a bot. It just points out when your statement was accidentally a haiku. It's happened to me many times

ok..ok :)

When i first saw this movie, it made me realize that anything is possible. As a Christian, I've never gave up on my dreams and future accomplishments. Easter Vigil 2010, I've accomplished my goal by making my confirmation. After my success, i felt the holy spirit shine on me as a way saying, "Well done Alan." And one other time i hoped and prayed that I get my own apartment. It didn't seem possible at first and i almost gave up. My older brother didn't think i could do it but i never gave up and kept on praying. Soon the housing authority took me in. So in the end I thanked God for his divine help.

I have the strength for everything through him who empowers me." With that passage, i never lost hope and confidence. Confidence is the key to success. So if anyone sees what i wrote, please only positive feed back. Nothing negative.

One of the best performances of will smith definitely. Good review

hola me gustan tus post sobretodo este, vi la película y después compre un libro llamado" Comienza donde estas" de el personaje inspirado para esta película ,inspiradora película y el libro lo recomiendo en realidad cualquier escrito de Chris Gardner es inspirador

Very beautiful movie I already watched

I love smith, he is an brilliant actor, I will surely watch this movie.

Excellent and Inspiring film..This film is inspirational..This is the hope of struggle, and shows a wonderful relationship between a father and a son. I like the message of showing a strong father's image, usually it is a mother who is a powerful person among movies. Pretty played by Will Smith and i have already seen this film.