You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I stopped shaving my armpits.

in #girlpower8 years ago

Reevaluated, still not a fan. You've got every right to do it, don't get me wrong. But it isn't attractive, I don't think hair under your arms accentuated that which makes women so amazing, you're delicate, pretty, more aesthetically pleasing than men in every way. Under arm hair doesn't compliment that to me. If it's a #freethenipple thang, go for it, but I don't really think the 'but men have it' argument will fly. We're way hairier, way bigger and way uglier. Just suits us more, sorry :P

Sort:  

My point is that people say it's disgusting, and dirty. That makes no sense. And regardless of your particular taste it is absolutely just as natural for me to have hair there as it is for you to have it. :) Women started shaving under their arms in 1915 for hundreds of years before that women were painted as feminine and poems were written about how delicate they were. They had hairy underarms though, it doesn't actually take away from anything it's just a cultural preference that is rather recent. I don't expect it to be everyone's cup of tea. Diversity is awesome. I was challenging people that are repulsed by it and feel it is gross not people that simply don't prefer it.