giving = joy

in #give6 years ago

I thought I was doing the right thing by keeping all I earned to my self,how nieve I was.I was self centered and abitious and was looking forward to the day I could leave my job and see the world ,but little did I know about true joy.I traveled up and down the west coast and the east coast of the US and seen all cities and sites I had read about for years, I had fun but still felt empty inside.Then I traveled to uganda to see the gorillas in the north west corner of the country.While staying in kampala I ment some street kids who had nothing ,their parents had just left them there cause they could not afford to feed them.And as I looked down the street I seen a beautiful woman who was putting about 6 kids in a taxi.I walked up to her and ask where are you taking them,she said I have a home with my mum and I am taking them there to give them a place to sleep and something to eat.Thats when I felt something I have never felt before,its called compassion.Well I said to her is there anything I can do to help ,she said yes of course come with us.Needless to say we had a great time picking up some food and things at the local market before arriving at her home.Over the next few days we spent alot of time together helping the children and getting them some clothes and caring for them.And you know what ,we fell in love ,WOW! .We have a charity now in her name and have devoted our selfs to helping these unwanted children and giving the love that they never had. I am the happiest I have even been in my life now because a beautiful young woman from uganda showed me the true meaning of life ,which is to share what you have with the less fortunate.

Sort:  

Congratulations @aprilblitz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @aprilblitz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @aprilblitz! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!