You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steam key Giveaway (Rise of the Tomb Raider)

in #giveaway6 years ago

Wow, that is a nice step up! The laptop looks like a similar (non Xps) version of mine. Probably has more space for better cooling though. The XPS runs pretty warm on more demanding games, also had to fix some problems with some capacitors overheating and throttling the machine...

Sort:  

I've been impressed with the cooling capabilities of this machine. If you read the reviews of the PC on Amazon, the biggest complaint people seem to have is with the quality of the screen, which I haven't noticed to be too bad. I've mainly been impressed with the gaming capabilities, and sometimes I use an external monitor, so it doesn't bother me that much.

I've also been impressed with the processor. I do some video conversion-related tasks occasionally and it can convert a blu-ray rip, for example, in the duration of the movie, which is a huge improvement over the 8-12 hours one would take on my old laptop.

This last time I thought I would step away from a gaming laptop and have something with a nice chassis and keyboard and screen, but with decent internals (so, just the perfect laptop really...).

The XPS 15 looked to be everything and it really is, but the tells run a touch hot if I don't undervolt. I might open it up again, it seems to be running hot off late. Maybe there is a chunk of dust, or a repaste is needed...

I remember each time I step up, the tasks like audio and video compression are like lightning!