Pulling Murrine

in #glass6 years ago

This was my first attempt at making a honeycomb murrine, this technique involves fuming a bunch of rods with 99.999% pure silver, stuffing them inside of a tube, and vacuuming the air out from in between the rods to make it one large (50mm) solid rod, and this is then stretched out. Once this is down to between 22-10mm I then took this rod to a wet diamond saw and cut it down into coins, these coins can then be used in all sorts of different projects

honeycomb millie.png

Once these coins are polished down to a certain grit, they can then be reintroduced into the flame and turned into pendants like these, which are backed in different colors to better display the silver fume that is trapped inside the honeycomb

honeycomb pendys.png

Sort:  

Hell yeah dude, nice work. I would be interested in a pendant as well as the coin. Let me know I love adding work from new artists.

i have coins available on hand, and i can make another pendant for you but it probably wouldnt be in either of these colors

Ok cool, yea that’s fine I don’t mind what color it is. I really like honeycombs I have sort of a flower/nature theme to my collection. It would go good next to this honey themed pendant I have by Nate Biskind and Joe Peters.421BAD95-0E36-40E0-8587-981E5751F15E.jpeg

thats a super sweet pendant. it would be an honor to have one of my pendants in the same collection as that joe p/nate b. i will make some more honeycomb pendants ASAP

Nicee, thank you, so let me know when you make more, no rush or anything and I’ll give you my email and we can figure out payment and shipping for the pendant and coin.