How do we identify goals? - Big goals with purpose and meaning!!

in #goals7 years ago

How do we identify goals?

Now to do this, we need one amazing goal that inspires us to make the change. We want a big goal that when we think about it. We feel it in our heart and soul. It gives us everything we need to keep pursuing our goal and maintaining a lifestyle that helps us to make it happen. This big goal is one that gives us purpose and a reason to make it happen.

As a result of the feelings associated with our goal, we make the change and form new habits that align with our goal. We learn to make better choices and keep moving towards our goal.

This goal will be different for everyone. It’s not about what your friends or family think your goal should be. It’s a goal that is an amazing goal that is aligned with your dreams and desires.

How did I make the change?

My initial lifestyle change was about running a half marathon. I wanted to challenge myself to do something that I thought was out of my reach, and get over the finishing line. Training for a half marathon is definitely hard work. It isn’t about the 21km that you run on race day. It is the long solitary training program leading up to the race. When I was training I had a vision of the race day and I kept thinking about how I would feel on race day. By focusing on the end result I was able to put in the work to reach my goal.

After being Paleo for almost 5 years now. I can safely say that I have formed the habit of eating the best that I know how and sticking to it. But I still have my down days where I know that I’m not exactly perfect. I know that I may be stretching the boundaries. What triggers me to get back on track when I feel like this? It’s knowing that I am putting the right foods in my body and I am attempting to be as healthy as I know how to be. For me, Paleo isn’t about weight loss, lifting a certain weight, or fitting into a dress. It is about knowing that I am healthy and I am getting the most out of my life.

So how do we identify our goals and make the change

We need to sit down and really think about what we want. But not just as simple as I want to run in a half marathon or fit into a dress. We need to take the time and write down our goals, and our feelings associated with them. Write down how achieving this goal really makes you feel. What emotions will you feel? How will it affect the people around you?

A great way of doing this is just to sit and right out a vision of how you really want to live your life to be. This may take a few weeks. But spend some time thinking about what you want your life to look like. We want to build a goal that is important to us and this takes time.

In this situation, we are thinking about improving our health. But it’s also important to know that there are other aspects of our life that will be affected by this. Including our productivity, our relationships, and our family. So don’t just think about your health and fitness goals. Just write it all down.

Once you have got everything down on paper. It is time to create a big goal to focus on. This should be a couple of sentences that pulls everything together. An example might be….I am so happy and grateful now that I am focusing on good food, moving my body daily, and learning new ways to improve my lifestyle. I feel blessed that I am getting more out of life, and can spend quality time with loved ones. I am now able to walk with confidence and have a new found strength.

I want to encourage you to sit down and spend some time thinking about your goal. It’s time to build a goal with real purpose and meaning.

Love & Blessings,
Nic

P.S. I love sharing my journey and encouraging others to make lifestyle choices for the better.
For more information, lifestyle motivation, or recipes please head to http://www.nicspaleotreats.com/