Gods Unchained - Rolling Thunder craze. Can you defeat it?

in #godsunchained3 years ago (edited)

rolling_thunder.gif

Hi Everyone,

thank you for stopping by and reading through another one of my posts.

Divine Order set just came out few days ago and with it a bunch of new and exciting cards which created quite the controversy in God's Unchained discord within most players -including myself.

The cards everyone is talking about is Rolling Thunder and Thunder caller. The complaints and the dread in #balance were depressing, people couldn't sleep and they were in pain. You could just tell. The pain was more mental than physical and the stress was piling up. All this frustration was close to unbearable for a lot of players. Some of them even vowed that they will stop playing GodsUnchained for a few days, maybe even a week!!! Can you imagine the outrage!!! The feeling in the chat was, and still is quite horrendous. Real feelings were hurt!
But hey, look at those two beautiful cards and tell me how can you hate on them so much?

rolling_thunder_card.png thunder_caller_card.png

At first, I thought this is unfair, how can there be a card like this... 56 points on the board with single drop. There is nothing I could do against it. I joined on " The Big Thunder Caller Cry" on their Discord to join the outrage. I mean, combine this card with couple of early boosters like - "Inspiring Skald" and "Revered Seer":

inspiring_skald_card.png revert_seer_card.png

Now add a drop of "Valka's Captain" and Oddi, Valka's Herald (Oddi... what a silly name):
valkas_captain_card.png valka_s_herald_card.png

And then you really have a recipe for pure destruction and you are on the receiving end. It's just not fun when you lose 90% of the time. There were people who do not have the cards, people who do have the cards, but refuse to play them and everyone was so frustrated. They shared the words of love and compassion non stop in #balance. But hey friend, don't frown!

This is just another problem we as players encounter and need to find a creative solution in order to solve it. There is nothing unbeatable in GU, it's just a matter of time and experimenting with the right combinations of cards in order to solve the problem you are facing... with a little bit of luck.

So after I realized that complaining in the discord channel might help tune the card down.... eventually, this is not a resolve I am willing to wait on. We all know by now that balancing the game takes time. The team currently has plenty on their shoulders, so please be polite and patient with them. They are doing their best. It's not their fault "Rolling Thunder" is rolling so hard.... Or is it?

dr_evil_evil_laugh.gif

So anyways, let's leave the jokes aside and get back on point. What is the solution to "Rolling Thunder" and "Thunder Caller" and the rest of the Agro War plays we see all weekend with remarkable 80%+ win ratio?

First we have to see what they have in common. And what they have in common is that all cards listed above are: mana 2 and 3 cards with the exception of the Revered Seer. But we can figure out what to do with Revered Seer later. Now, the first thing this brought to my mind was:

dust_to_dust_card.png

Dust to Dust.This card in particular works wonders for the thunder caller insanity and stops it it's tracks right off the bat. Once the board is filled with Thunder callers, it does not matter what stats they have, because they will always be 3 mana creatures. This card for me was the beginning for building a 80%+ winning rate death deck which got me all the way to the number one spot in Mythic. Even so this might be just temporarily, I won't call it luck because after 34 games I had a win ratio of 84.4%. GU is constantly evolving game, new card combinations are being discovered daily. What might work today, most likely won't work tomorrow. But for now against the stereotypical Thunder caller war, Board Wipe Death is killing it There is a link to my deck at the end of the article if you would like to see what got me to the number one spot this weekend.

Keep in mind that I am not a F2P player, and if you are a F2P player you will have to get quite creative with the cards you have. Hopefully you won some packs through the weekend ranked tournaments and you can supplement some of the cards you're missing in order to build the best War counter deck you can. With that being said the next card on my list is - Eva, Baroness of the Death.

This is just a sick card, it gives you control of the board early while you transition into mid range with your stronger creatures and take control of the board. This card is Agro decks nightmare...

eva_baroness_of_the_death_card.png

As long as you have couple of creatures on the board, you are going to be more than happy to drop this old lady in the mix. Every time she dies, she converts a creature with up to 4 mana into a zombie... which in turn after it dies, converts another creature up to 4 mana into a zombie. Pretty fun, right? If you manage to pull Eva early in the game, you get control of the board while you are waiting on your "dust to dust" to drop in your hand as an extra insurance policy. Your main goal is to survive the early rounds. You can combine all this with few other board wipe spells like - "Apocalypse now", "End Times" and "Blackblood Blast"
apocalypse_now_card.png blackblookd_blast_card.png

end_times_card.png

The strategy here is to hold off to late game where agro decks are not prepared to face your heavy 8 mana and 9 mana creatures. For the F2P players - "dust to dust" and "Blackblood Blast" are core cards and you might have them in your card collection already. Those board clear cards are the core of this deck and style of play.

Could there be any other options and possibilities out there to currently face war and even the odds? Most likely, yes. Probably there are a lot of card combinations which are not even found yet and there is a lot to explore with "Order" and the rest of the gods. I couldn't figure order out, but this deck worked for me and still works. It's doing a good job of slowing war down and letting me play the game.

Other cards you might want to consider on top of the ones mentioned are "life generating" and "leech" cards. If you don't have leach creatures, you need life replacement in order to push through the late stages of the game. War is quite devastating early with it's god power wiping 2 HP every turn and giving frenzy to it's creatures. You need to be able to recover life one way or another.

Next on the list of importance for structure removal and Thunder caller removal early if I don't get lucky with my draw is - "Soul Shatter"

soul_shatter_card.png

This card is super effective against - Pyramid Warden, Thunder Caller, Bronze Gate and any other annoying "3 mana or less" creature that gets on your nerves. It's a really cheap TOTG card, and I would recommend you checking it out.... here.

After you survive 7 mana, it's game over for WAR. At this point you should have plenty of board wipe options and comfortably be able to bring out your heavy artillery's. Big creatures with heavy frontline while you maintain control of the board work best here. You will surely see at some point your opponent wearing out and usually quitting before the game ends. Here are some suggestions on what you can throw down late game. "End times" wipes and counters heavy, "Helian Elite" is a solid line of defense that shouldn't be ignored. Now depending on your collection after that you can pick your finisher. I personally chose "Polyhymnia, Aetheric Hydra" - Mostly because this thing is insane in defending the castle. And for a finisher I chose "Hippacria's Monster" Once this beast stacks your void, it's a one hit kill whatever it touches including your opponent's god. If you don't have these cards you can substitute with heavy 8's and whatever other 9's you have. And that's it. War is not that much of a danger anymore. If you find a different strategy to counter war with Deception or any other god, please feel free to message me. I would love to explore different options and different decks.

Now the fun part - a small gift from me to one lucky you:

eva_barroness.png

I have an additional hidden strategy I use in this deck, also shared bellow. If someone can figure out what it is, leave it in the comments bellow. If you guess it right, I will gift you a Meteorite "Eva, The Baroness of Death". There is only one Eva to give away. So first one who guess it right, gets it.

I hope you had fun reading this and I hope you are enjoying the new, improved and challenging Gods Unchained, where winning is not as easy as it used to be.... unless you play war 😉 !!!

a link to my deck if you want to pick my brain....

Disclaimer: Everything written above is not a financial advice. I am not a financial advisor. This is a TCG crypto game and I play the game a lot so I am surely biased. All opinions mentioned above are only mine and I am NOT affiliated and I DO NOT WORK for GodsUnchained. You get the gist.
Happy Sunday everybody! Stay awesome !!!

😊

Sort:  

I think you're referring to the Siren of the Grave strategy with Kopesh and Triage Necromancer pulling it from the void to put them to sleep again and again. You just keep putting the vikings to sleep while you finish the game with face damage. :)

This is too obvious. :) Even so I have the Siren of the Grave in this deck, it's there only to earn me an extra turn and that's about it. Give it another shot.

I can't really think of anything else tbh. Good luck to the others.

gets you an extra ping from demos if they're around next turn as well.

Is this your secret strategy?: You use Corrupt Ceremony to hopefully mill hippacria's monster then use Neferu's hopesh or Raise Dead to bring it back. Get lucky and you can have Hippacria's by turn 5.
My discord name is King Steven. Good job on the article btw - I like it.

That's it... Corrupt Ceremony, but you need raise dead in hand, not aiming for Hipparcria's beast because I can bring it back to life multiple times if it gets in the void. I will be looking to bring back a high mana creature either from opponents void or from my void, but mostly looking for - Polyhymnia or Helian Elite to give me early defense against war. or if I am low health, bring back life regeneration or leach back from the void.

So this giveaway was quite short. KR204 Won. I will give another Eva, Baroness of the Death, to whoever comes up with a good counter strategy to war's rolling thunder at the moment before any nerfing. It needs to be something different than AoE death deck. Share any other god's winning strategy against WAR bellow, if there is more than winning strategy. I will do a raffle for the card. Leave your comments bellow!!!

Control Deception can handle Rolling Thunder well. Orfeo's guile kills all the thunder callers from rolling thunder while filling your hand up or cutthroat insight can take rolling thunder from their hand before they can play it. You can stall the early game to prevent war from getting frenzied using removal: sleep dart, hunting trap, or umber arrow, and sleep: spellbound, exorcise, demogorgon .
You can run run it with order cards like jmoney (https://gudecks.com/decks/6228) or run more late game like Fakemews (https://gudecks.com/decks/deception,94,94,201,201,252,252,342,343,376,376,855,855,925,925,1008,1008,1115,1115,1116,1116,1158,1158,1255,1255,1335,1335,1398,1412,1412,1448?godPowers=100125&creator=Fakemews&userId=147667&archetype=Other%20Deception).

This is interesting concept for deception decks. Fakemews deck has only one match against War, so really not enough games played in order to know if it will be successful counter or not even so it looks like it could be a profitable strategy against Rolling Thunder. Jmoney's deck is in a similar position. It has won 2 games against War and both have Rolling Thunder in them so that could be a good deception deck to counter war at the moment. I would like to see if someone else will come up with some cool deck ideas possibly with Light, Magic and Nature. Then I can raffle Eva to one lucky winner. I do like the deception decks you shared. They look like they can defeat WAR, but it will be nice if they had at least 4-5 games against war to prove consistence and draw variance.

Okay. I'll give it another go. :)

Rush them with deception. Kill them before they get 6 Mana.

  1. Round : Switch Duelist + Dark knives
  2. Round : Cobra Scepter
  3. Round : Jinx Duelist
  4. Round : Assassins Aim
  5. Round : He ded.

Also Rapture Dance and A Toast to Peace in case you reach 6 rounds as direct hard counters.

Share your deck from gudecks.com so we can see the success rate. You have to be able to pull it off ;)

I definitely jumped on the Rolling Thunder bandwagon as soon as I saw someone play it against me and was shocked! I don't follow the Discord or discussions elsewhere so your post is the first I've seen about it, but it absolutely was a warrior slugfest this weekend! Most decks are also leaning heavily on an early draw of Enduring Shield to dominate the early board.

I do lose to decks that develop faster than mine if I have a poor draw, but I don't believe anyone has overcome after the thunder rolls successfully! I had to screencap the one game where my opponent did manage to sleep my board a couple turns in a row and delay the end, but the thunder just kept building the whole time!


Screen Shot 2021-10-03 at 8.44.45 AM.png

I managed to climb to the top of Mythic this weekend playing the Death deck listed above. I beat war 3 out of 4 times. Even if Rolling Thunder unfolds, I just wipe them all. Still number one on the leaderboard. I played rolling thunder for a little bit just to get the hang of what can counter it. I have not seen a good Deception, Light, Nature or Magic deck that can do something about it.... yet.

What the hidden strategy is that after you dropped the Baroness of the Dead and thunder callers are becoming zombies, put neferu out to get rid of the thunder callers turned zombies and put polyhymnia out. So this is what your hidden strategy looks like.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wasper.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I play this game frequently I got 5-6 epic cards and even a legendary for free. But I can't sell them . I don't get how people make money from this game. Even I got a token sale invitation for being an active player. When I try to forge cards it says forging isn't available.

Yes. You are correct. Forging isn't available at the moment. The forge was closed due to high ETH fees. They have updated Forge and more stuff coming in the next couple of months. You will be able to forge your cards when the forge - reopens and then list them on the market if you would like to sell them. If you play on weekend ranked, you get packs which are already NFT's and you can sell those on the market right away.