Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 13

I love Steemit!

koala smile.PNG

And I love all of you awesome Steemians on the platform!

For those of you who follow me but are not aware yet, there is a contest being run by @anomadsoul where he is giving out Steempower delegation to Steemit Rolemodels and I have been nominated for the award. Not once, not twice, but by 3 separate Steemians with 3 separate posts (at the time of writing this post)! I am pretty darn excited about it. Unfortunately, there are only a few more hours left on that contest, and I didn't find out about it until last night, but you can still show your support for me. I am not sure exactly how the winners are going to be decided, but having more people tossing their hats in in support of me couldn't hurt. HERE IS A LINK to the original contest post. There are comments from @artaddict, @castleberry and from myself @gogogadgetupvote in that post talking about why I would be a good candidate for the delegation. Any support and/or replies to those comments would probably help in getting me selected. Plus, as I always encourage you guys to Upvote each other in the comments sections, showing some love in the form of Upvotes on those comments couldn't hurt, either. I also want to drop the links to the posts of the people nominating me for this prize. Any support on those posts would probably go a long way, as well!

@artaddict has a post nominating me LINKED HERE
@castleberry did a beautiful post LINKED HERE
and @positivity420 did a post LINKED HERE

I really can't express in words how thankful I am to have such great followers!
Anyway, that is probably enough of me babbling about this OTHER contest, and probably about time to get on with my contest.

Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 12

That is a link to the previous contest!

You can see the cool facts that people submitted by following that link and scrolling to the comments section at the bottom. I took an extra day before giving out the prizes for that contest, so I decided to give out twice as many prizes in that contest. Some of the winning pieces of trivia included facts about the process of extracting liquid from coal, the effects of holding (or not holding) babies, and some of the differences between Alligators and Crocodiles, just to name a few! So go ahead and click that link, go learn something, and maybe toss an Upvote to any of the comments that taught you something you didn't already know!


Rules for participation.

Tell me Something I Don't Know.

Leave me a meaningful comment below with a random bit of trivia knowledge (if you don't know what a meaningful comment is, make sure you read the post by @ogochuckwu linked at the bottom of this post). It doesn't have to be the most fantastic bit of knowledge, it just has to be true. If you post something really hard to believe, I may ask you to cite your source or link me to something that backs up your bit of info. If you cannot provide me with SOMETHING (a webpage, a news report, ANYTHING) to back up you claim I will not consider it a valid entry and I will not Upvote your entry. If you say something like "Star Wars is based on a true story, and I speak to the ghost of Yoda all the time", I am probably not going to believe you. Like I said, it just has to be true (and somewhat verifiable).
All entrants will get a small Upvote for participating, (One Entry Per Person Per Day!!!) and my top three favorite will receive a 100% Upvote, a 75% Upvote and a 50% Upvote for teaching me something new that day.
Replies need to be in English or translated to English (If I can't read it, I can't judge it). You have about twenty three hours (give or take an hour depending on what time I get online that day) to make submissions to this post, at which time I will give out rewards and post the new Day's contest. Be sure to check the comments and support the other entrants. I highly encourage engagement in the comments section, and the vast majority of my Upvote power is used on comments. Earning rewards just for talking to each other is my favorite part of the platform, and I highly recommend Upvoting each others entries in the replies to this post! If the first three comments have Upvotes from me (the first one will be about a dollar), then I have already given out prizes for this contest, but the next one will be out shortly!
You must Upvote this post to be considered a "valid entry". This is not because I want the rewards from your vote. This is because I rent delegated Steempower to provide larger Upvotes as prizes to my contests, and your Upvote on this post helps me pay for that delegation, and spread more rewards to more users!


As always, thanks for taking the time to read my post!



Check out THIS INCREDIBLE LIST of Steem related pages and resources compiled by the equally incredible @inquiringtimes


Polish Your Posts by checking out this post full of useful tips for newbies about post creation by @ethandsmith!


Learn how to write quality comments that improve your blog by @ogochukwu


You can see your posts total pending payouts by visiting https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts and typing in your username!


Don't forget to check out @steemvoter


Every user can set up 3 rules to vote for their favorite author automatically. You get more rules the more SteemPower you have.

Learn how to add Emojis to your Steemit posts by CLICKING HERE



Image from google. Gifs from GIPHY

Remember to follow me so you can catch my different Daily Contests every day!! Upvoting and Resteeming this post helps me spread more rewards to more users!


I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I'm Always On Duty!

Sort:  

Hey @gogogadgetupvote! Congratulations on the nominations! I've been kind of out of commission as of late due to vacation and lack of consistent access to computers, but I'll through my card in the hat on this one.

I'll go ahead and share something I just learned today.

Did you know that Australia was once plagued by rabbits?

In the late 1850's, a British settler released approximately 24 European rabbits into the wild in Australia for hunting purposes. For almost 10 years there was nothing out of the ordinary, as far as population growth was concerned. However, in 1867, the population of the rabbits exploded! They began to spread in numbers and territory at a frightening level, destroying the ecology of Australia, creating mass erosion, causing numerous plants and other species to go extinct, and much more. It became such a huge issue, and they spread so quickly, that the government actually offered a reward for any solution that would work in controlling and reducing the rabbit population.

Over the years, many were tried, but with minimal success, as the rabbits continued to spread and reproduce. In the early 1900's, scientists began experimenting with biological diseases meant to target and kill rabbits. While this did end up proving to be effective, it took longer than expected, and results weren't truly seen until closer to 1920. There was another breakthrough in the 1950's when a virus was developed that caused "Rabbit Hemorrhaging Disease" in rabbits. This ended up taking their population from an estimated 600 million, down to about 100 million. However, the remaining rabbits eventually developed an immunity to it and the population managed to increase back to 200-300 million by 1991. Therefore, a new virus was created, proving successful, but only in certain regions, and eventually a more potent strain of it was discovered in 2012. Just this past year, Australian authorities released this strain to try and wipe out the rabbit populations across Australia.

During all of this, scientists have also had to develop vaccines to immunize domestic rabbits and other pets in order to prevent them from contracting the virus as well.

And that was a brief summary of how rabbits plagued Australia and are still a pest to this day!

Very Cool! Following for more!
And the trivia:

Did you know that poison dart frogs obtain their poison from the insects they eat? Than cannot produce the poison on their own, so glands in the frog absorb the toxins/venom from their diet and secrete it as poison. If a frog never eats venomous insects, it never secretes poison. Also, if the frog was moved to an environment without venomous insects, the poison would naturally fade, and then the frog would be non-poisonous once again... Pretty cool!

Did you know there's a song that has been proved to reduce anxiety up to 65%. It was specially constructed to slow your heart rate, reduce blood pressure and cortisol. It is so effective that it's dangerous to have it on radio while driving because it can make you sleep behind the wheel...

This is the song:


Original video source

Thank you for sharing. I will be careful not to listen to this in the car.

No problem. :) Can't be too careful!

Good evening @gogogadgetupvote, and yeah I think you'll become a petroleum expert soon enough.

Did you know that it was Ida Tarbell who brought about the dissolution of the great dragon, Standard Oil. She started off by publishing what she termed "a narrative history of the Standard Oil Company" in McClure's magazine from November 1902 which ran for 24 successive months and was then published in book form in November 2004 as The History of Standard Oil Company.

The publication of the book was a major event. One journal described it as "the most remarkable book of its kind ever written in this country."

This led to her being known as the first Muckracker, a term used to describe journalists of the progressive movement. This name was given to her by Theodore Roosevelt, the youngest man ever to enter the White House.

Sourced from The Prize by Daniel Yergin.

thanks for creating this contest, I watched all of the people have fun and enjoyed it.

is honey never expires?
here is the news.

Ceramic jars containing the world’s oldest honey (as far as archaeologists have found) — about 5,500 years old — were discovered in the tomb of a noblewoman in Georgia, not far from Tbilisi. They say honey never expires, but this honey is really old.

Hi @gogogetupvote,
Do you know that the human thigh bones are stronger than concrete?

Your posts always amaze me.
Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy.Its related to community base post.

Hahahahahahahah 😂😂😂
No kidding

I'm back again @gogogadgetupvote
I'm grateful for this opportunity, and the fact that it is daily is really great! Thanks a lot.

Here I go:

Did you know?

A statue of Jesus in India had water mysteriously dripping from its toes. Worshipers would collect and sometimes drink it. The source of the water was later found to be a clogged toilet near the statue. 😂😂😂😂😂🤣

Maybe urine therapy can be good for health.

Hahahahahaha 😂😂😂
Yeah, maybe, just maybe, and say a few particles of shit here and there, who knows?

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Glad to know that you are expecting your first baby. May the baby come in this World healthy. so why not share some thing about babies.
Do you know that a baby body has about 300 bones at birth. These eventually fuse (grow together) to form the 206 bones when grow adult.

Here is something you may not know yet. I just posted a comment on one of your nomination posts and agree that with initiation to engage the community and welcome new Steemians through #introduce yourself bounty you are not only a good role model but also one of the places I can visit when I need a laugh.

Did you know I am allergic to cats? I think that's the reason Inspector gadget keeps a dog. Have a great weekend. Thanks for the upvote. I'm learning a lot hanging around here.

Hope the best for you ^-^

Congratulations @gogogadgetupvote! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!