You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That's not Crack

in #gold6 years ago

I've been told that there is gold to be had in a river near me, so I hope to try and find some this summer! These are all things that I've been wanting to do for a while. There is also black sand on the beaches and when we go over it with a metal detector is screams of gold. When we look close, it literally looks like tiny dust particles of gold in the black sand.

Speaking of crack...

When your hunting for gold a crack in the bedrock "crevice" is one of the best places to find gold.

You bring a whole new meaning to looking for some crack... :)

Sort:  

The black sand is a good sign that there could be gold around. You always find black sand with gold but you wont always find gold in black sand. It's magnatite and it is highly mineralized. A normal metal detector freaks out, especially if the black sand is wet... The stuff on the surface is likely pyrite. Gold is heavy and will rarely be visable. Tweakers are the new "crackheads" lol. I guess I'm a crackhead cause I cant stop thinking about that crack lol. It had this blue mud at the bottom that the old timers would find great gold in. Be a good spot to detect if there wasn't lead everywhere.

Nice thanks for that tip! My friend that I go rockhounding with has told me about the black sand but we weren't sure. We were aware that we probably had to dig, but the black sand seems to be running off from somewhere as it's usually a pretty thin layer. So seeing as to how it was on the shoreline, and the black sand was indeed wet, that explains why his metal detector went crazy. It's also a much older metal detector. I want a new one.

Mine is useless at the ocean the saltwater and heavy mineralzation freaks it out really bad too. I got it used on craigslist from a guy down in Santa Cruz. I'd love to upgrade to an "A.T. Gold" detector. Be perfect for the swimholes around here. It's waterproof to like 15 feet deep I believe.