Copper metal as an investment $$?$$

in #gold7 years ago

I have a large collection of copper pennies, maybe 150 pounds, I also have scrap copper tubing and copper decorations and I've picked up at garage sales.

Here's a quick rundown of what I'm trying to do with my copper horde.
IMG_1721.JPG these are all the copper pennies that I picked out of change that I got back when I purchase something with cash. This is about two years worth. Copper pennies are kind of like silver dimes now, you hardly see them in circulation anymore.

All comments will receive an up vote! Tell me how many pounds of copper you have in your record.

Sort:  

After a certain year pennies are only copper clad and not pure copper. Scrap prices are variable and demand is tided closely to the strength of the economy. So in an economic downturn when you in theory would most want to liquidate your hoard to purchase necessities the value drops. Economic downturns are engineered by the banks so they can dump their worthless fiat currency and buy up real world goods on the cheap.

In the United States they started using clad metals or base metals to make pennies in 1982. All the pennies that I've collected over the years are 1981 or older. From what I've researched there are 95% pure copper.

Yeah man, I like your collection. Far out I never thought other people were into copper, thats a nice little collection.

I've never really thought about it as an investment I just like it, there's something about the colours it looks really great new then when it changes to the aged colour it looks totally different.

I have been collecting bits and pieces of it because I wanted to melt it down and work with it, do some art etc.

I think Copper wood have to go to eight dollars a pound before it make any serious money but who knows. Whenever you get change look for those old pennies ...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond