Sort:  

yes but who's to say something else couldn't have replaced gold before all of that happened? I stand by what I said and you didn't prove my comment wrong... we gave it value. I was never taking away from what it did, simply stating that without us giving care to it it wouldn't necessarily be significant.

Gold has the chemical property of being very stable, doesn't tarnish or oxidize. Its rarity is what gave it value through millennia. We could agree that sand is valuable and choose it as a currency if we want. I don't agree when you said gold has no real use. It does have real use.

When economies collapse, computers crash, paper money burn, what do you think people could use to buy goods? Gold and silver coins 😉

when I said "no real use" I was talking about as far as an apocalypse goes because I was using the context of dude's post. Farming and being able to create clean water would be far more valuable than gold, no? there are surely materials far more valuable than gold if it came down to it. that's just my opinion.

May be true in an apocalyptic scenario. However in our real current world, many poor people in Africa spend their days mining rivers for gold specks that actually buys them bread and food. Such countries have worthless currencies, so gold is their option to survive. Those people have no clean water nor fertile lands to farm.

Okay I can def agree with that, much love bro!

I fuck with you tho bro I'm about to follow u on here